All Practice Exams

Free Practice Questions for Saudi Board Neurosurgery

Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.

✓ No registration✓ No credit card
100+ Questions
100% Free

Loading practice questions...

Exam Review

Key Facts: Saudi Board Neurosurgery Exam

13

Official weighted blueprint sections

SCFHS Neurosurgery Final Examination Blueprint 24–27

70%

Standard pass mark; adjustment floor 65%

SCFHS Neurosurgery Final Examination Blueprint 24–27

Saudi Board Final Examination - Neurosurgery (SCFHS). Two papers, each with 100–125 single-best-answer MCQs. Up to 10% additional unscored items may be added. Duration is not stated in the written blueprint. The standard pass mark is 70%; when the initial pass rate is below 70%, SCFHS lowers the score one mark at a time toward a 70% pass rate or a 65% score, whichever comes first. A separate final clinical examination follows the written examination.

Sample Saudi Board Neurosurgery Practice Questions

Try these sample questions to review concepts for the Saudi Board Neurosurgery exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 100+ question experience with AI tutoring.

1A 52-year-old female presents with a Hunt and Hess Grade II, Fisher Grade 3 subarachnoid hemorrhage from a ruptured 7 mm anterior communicating artery (ACoA) saccular aneurysm with favorable neck anatomy. Based on the International Subarachnoid Aneurysm Trial (ISAT) and contemporary neurovascular consensus guidelines, which of the following is the most appropriate management regarding modality and timing?
A.Endovascular coiling performed within 24 to 72 hours of ictus
B.Surgical clipping delayed until post-bleed day 14 to avoid vasospasm
C.Medical management alone followed by elective coiling at 6 weeks
D.Urgent parent vessel sacrifice under general anesthesia
Explanation: Modern randomized clinical trial evidence, including the International Subarachnoid Aneurysm Trial (ISAT), demonstrates an absolute risk reduction in dependency or death at 1 year for ruptured saccular aneurysms that are anatomically suitable for endovascular coiling compared to open clipping. Treatment must be secured expeditiously within 24 to 72 hours to eliminate the catastrophic hazard of recurrent hemorrhage.
2A 34-year-old male presents with new-onset generalized seizures. Brain MRI and cerebral digital subtraction angiography (DSA) reveal a 4.5 cm arteriovenous malformation (AVM) located within the dominant left precentral motor cortex with exclusively deep venous drainage into the internal cerebral veins. What is the Spetzler-Martin grade and recommended management strategy?
A.Grade II; prompt surgical resection
B.Grade III; combined preoperative embolization followed by immediate microsurgical excision
C.Grade IV; conservative management with antiepileptic medications unless refractory hemorrhage occurs
D.Grade V; single-session high-dose stereotactic radiosurgery
Explanation: According to the Spetzler-Martin grading scale, points are assigned as: size 3-6 cm (2 points), eloquence in motor cortex (1 point), and deep venous drainage (1 point), totaling a Grade IV AVM. Grade IV and V AVMs carry substantial surgical morbidity that exceeds the natural history risk of hemorrhage (as reinforced by ARUBA study principles); conservative medical management for seizures is the standard initial approach.
3A 60-year-old male undergoes cerebral angiography for evaluation of pulsatile tinnitus and progressive cognitive decline. DSA demonstrates a transverse-sigmoid sinus dural arteriovenous fistula (dAVF) with direct drainage into cortical pial veins with retrograde cortical venous flow (Cognard Type IIb / Borden Type II). What is the primary determinant of aggressive intervention in this patient?
A.The presence of pulsatile tinnitus
B.Retrograde cortical venous drainage
C.Bilateral transverse sinus hypoplasia
D.Location of the fistula in the posterior fossa
Explanation: In both the Borden and Cognard classification systems, the presence of retrograde cortical venous drainage (leptomeningeal venous reflux) confers a high annual risk of intracranial hemorrhage (approximately 8-10% annually) and non-hemorrhagic neurological deficits. This mandates aggressive treatment with transvenous or transarterial endovascular embolization or microsurgical disconnection.
4A 40-year-old female presents with acute right-sided hemiparesis and left sixth nerve palsy. MRI brain demonstrates a 1.5 cm well-circumscribed lesion with mixed core signal intensity and a complete hypointense rim on T2-weighted and gradient-echo sequences in the left dorsal pontine tegmentum, reaching the pial surface of the fourth ventricular floor. What is the most appropriate management?
A.Stereotactic biopsy under frameless navigation
B.Microsurgical resection via a telovelar approach using intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring
C.Fractionated stereotactic radiosurgery to 25 Gy
D.Indefinite clinical observation without repeat imaging
Explanation: Brainstem cavernous malformations (cavernomas) that cause acute neurological deficits and abut an ependymal or pial surface (such as the fourth ventricular floor) are candidates for microsurgical resection. A telovelar or infratentorial approach guided by brainstem mapping and IONM allows evacuation of the hematoma and total resection of the malformation while avoiding injury to motor tracts and cranial nerve nuclei.
5A 68-year-old male is brought to the emergency department with acute right hemiplegia and global aphasia (NIHSS score 19). Non-contrast head CT shows an ASPECTS score of 8 without hemorrhage. CT angiography reveals an occlusion of the left internal carotid artery terminus and M1 segment. The patient was last seen normal 8 hours ago. Advanced CT perfusion shows an ischemic core volume of 20 mL and a penumbral hypoperfused tissue volume of 95 mL. What is the most appropriate next step according to the DAWN and DEFUSE-3 trials?
A.Intravenous tissue plasminogen activator (IV-tPA) infusion only
B.Immediate mechanical thrombectomy
C.Immediate decompressive craniectomy
D.Systemic heparinization and admission to a step-down unit
Explanation: Both the DAWN trial (6-24 hour window) and DEFUSE-3 trial (6-16 hour window) established that patients with anterior circulation large-vessel occlusions (LVO) and a significant clinical-core or perfusion-core mismatch benefit dramatically from endovascular mechanical thrombectomy, with marked improvements in functional independence at 90 days.
6A 56-year-old female is on post-bleed day 7 following coiling of a ruptured anterior communicating artery aneurysm. She develops new-onset left upper extremity weakness and lethargy. Transcranial Doppler shows right middle cerebral artery mean flow velocity of 215 cm/s with a Lindegaard ratio of 4.2. After euvolemia is confirmed, what is the initial medical therapy of choice for this delayed cerebral ischemia (DCI)?
A.Induction of hypertension using vasopressors (e.g., norepinephrine) to augment cerebral perfusion
B.Aggressive hypervolemic hemodilution with 6% hydroxyethyl starch
C.Prophylactic lumbar drainage to clear subarachnoid blood products
D.High-dose systemic corticosteroid therapy
Explanation: Current neurocritical care guidelines have moved away from traditional 'triple-H' therapy in favor of targeted euvolemia and induced hypertension for clinical delayed cerebral ischemia (DCI) secondary to cerebral vasospasm. Vasopressors such as norepinephrine or phenylephrine are titrated to augment mean arterial pressure (MAP) and improve perfusion through spastic intracranial vessels.
7A 66-year-old male with hypertension and hyperlipidemia experiences two transient episodes of amaurosis fugax in his right eye over the past 5 days. Carotid duplex ultrasonography and CT angiography confirm an 80% atherosclerotic stenosis of the right internal carotid artery by NASCET measurement criteria. What does the North American Symptomatic Carotid Endarterectomy Trial (NASCET) conclude regarding his management?
A.Medical management alone is superior to carotid endarterectomy
B.Carotid endarterectomy provides significant absolute risk reduction for stroke compared to medical management alone
C.Carotid artery stenting has demonstrated superiority over endarterectomy in all patient cohorts
D.Surgical intervention should be withheld until the patient suffers a completed stroke
Explanation: The NASCET trial demonstrated that for symptomatic patients with high-grade (70-99%) internal carotid artery stenosis, carotid endarterectomy (CEA) combined with best medical therapy yields a profound absolute risk reduction in ipsilateral stroke (17% absolute reduction at 2 years) compared to medical therapy alone.
8A 48-year-old female presents with acute subarachnoid hemorrhage. Angiography reveals a 3 mm wide-necked, blister-like outpouching on the non-branching dorsal surface of the supraclinoid internal carotid artery. Histopathologically, these blood blister-like aneurysms (BBAs) lack a true neck and internal elastic lamina. Which of the following treatment strategies offers the most durable occlusion with lowest risk of intraprocedural avulsion?
A.Direct microsurgical clip application across the base with standard curved Yasargil clip
B.Endovascular flow-diverter stent deployment across the aneurysm landing zone
C.Simple coil embolization without balloon or stent support
D.Observation with blood pressure control for 3 months
Explanation: Blood blister-like aneurysms (BBAs) of the ICA are fragile pseudoaneurysms resulting from subadventitial dissection and lack a true muscular wall or neck. Standard clip application carries a high rate of intraoperative avulsion of the parent ICA wall. Flow diversion (such as with a Pipeline embolization device) reconstructs the diseased parent vessel lumen, promoting thrombosis while preserving the parent artery.
9A 32-year-old male with Staphylococcus aureus endocarditis develops severe headache and focal motor seizures. Brain CT angiography demonstrates a 6 mm fusiform aneurysm on a distal cortical branch of the left middle cerebral artery without subarachnoid hemorrhage. What is the recommended primary initial strategy for this infectious (mycotic) intracranial aneurysm?
A.Immediate open craniotomy and distal vessel sacrifice
B.A 4- to 6-week course of targeted intravenous antibiotic therapy with serial vascular imaging
C.Immediate stereotactic radiosurgery
D.Permanent balloon occlusion of the proximal M1 trunk
Explanation: Infectious (mycotic) intracranial aneurysms originate from septic embolization causing inflammatory necrosis of the arterial wall. For unruptured distal mycotic aneurysms, the first-line therapy is high-dose targeted intravenous antibiotics for 4-6 weeks with close serial neurovascular imaging (CTA/DSA), as a substantial proportion resolve or stabilize under bactericidal therapy. Surgical or endovascular occlusion is indicated if the aneurysm enlarges, ruptures, or persists.
10A 28-year-old female presents with recurrent transient ischemic attacks affecting both speech and right arm dexterity. Cerebral angiography demonstrates bilateral high-grade stenosis of the terminal internal carotid arteries with a prominent network of lenticulostriate collateral vessels ('puff of smoke' appearance), confirming Moyamoya disease. Which of the following surgical revascularization procedures represents a direct bypass technique?
A.Encephaloduroarteriosynangiosis (EDAS)
B.Encephalomyosynangiosis (EMS)
C.Superficial temporal artery to middle cerebral artery (STA-MCA) anastomosis
D.Multiple burr holes without dural inversion
Explanation: Surgical revascularization for Moyamoya disease is divided into direct, indirect, and combined techniques. The superficial temporal artery to middle cerebral artery (STA-MCA) end-to-side microvascular anastomosis is a direct bypass providing immediate cortical blood flow augmentation, whereas EDAS, EMS, and burr holes are indirect techniques that rely on neoangiogenesis over several months.

About the Saudi Board Neurosurgery Exam

Independent English-language MCQ study adaptation by OpenExamPrep for Saudi Board Final Examination - Neurosurgery (SCFHS). These questions practice selected clinical knowledge and decisions; additional study using the official scope is required. The bank does not simulate or replace the separate mandatory clinical/practical examination. Official assessment delivery languages are not confirmed by the written blueprint.

Exam sponsor: Saudi Commission for Health Specialties (SCFHS). The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.

Assessment

Two papers, each with 100–125 single-best-answer MCQs. Up to 10% additional unscored items may be added. Duration is not stated in the written blueprint.

Time Limit

Not published by SCFHS

Passing Score

70% (lowered to minimum 65% if pass rate under 70%)

Exam / Certification Fees

Not published by SCFHS

Exam sponsor website

Reported exam pass rate: Not published by SCFHS. SCFHS publishes no candidate pass rate. The blueprint instead sets the passing score at 70% and, if fewer than 70% of candidates pass before final approval, lowers that score one mark at a time until a 70% pass rate is reached or the score reaches 65%, whichever comes first; it is never lowered below 65%. Exam sponsor website

Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.

Our practice resources: topics covered

We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.

10%

Neurovascular

Neurovascular in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

Neuro-oncology

Neuro-oncology in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Cranial Trauma

Cranial Trauma in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

Pediatric Neurosurgery

Pediatric Neurosurgery in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

Spine

Spine in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Infection

Infection in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Functional Neurosurgery

Functional Neurosurgery in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Peripheral Nerve

Peripheral Nerve in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

General Neurosurgical Principles, Approaches and Adjuvant Care

General Neurosurgical Principles, Approaches and Adjuvant Care in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

Neuro-anatomy and Neurosurgical Anatomy

Neuro-anatomy and Neurosurgical Anatomy in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

10%

Neuropathology, Molecular Biology, Neuroradiology and Diagnostic Approaches

Neuropathology, Molecular Biology, Neuroradiology and Diagnostic Approaches in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Pathophysiology, Neurophysiology and Neurology

Pathophysiology, Neurophysiology and Neurology in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

5%

Neurocritical Care, Pharmacology and Neuro-anesthesia

Neurocritical Care, Pharmacology and Neuro-anesthesia in the official SCFHS written-examination scope.

Preparing for the Saudi Board Neurosurgery Exam

What You Need to Know

  • Passing score: 70% (lowered to minimum 65% if pass rate under 70%)
  • Assessment: Two papers, each with 100–125 single-best-answer MCQs. Up to 10% additional unscored items may be added. Duration is not stated in the written blueprint.
  • Time limit: Not published by SCFHS
  • Exam / certification fees: Not published by SCFHS Official sources

Using Our Practice Resources

  • Work through all 100 available questions
  • Review every answer and explanation
  • Track weak areas and revisit them
  • Use our AI tutor for tough concepts

Saudi Board Neurosurgery: Suggested Study Strategy

1Review the 2021 WHO Classification of Tumors of the Central Nervous System, focusing on IDH mutation status, 1p/19q codeletion, and CDKN2A/B homozygous deletion in astrocytomas.
2Master the management algorithms for unruptured vs ruptured aneurysms, ischemic stroke thrombectomy windows (DAWN and DEFUSE-3 criteria), and vasospasm prophylaxis.
3Memorize critical skull base landmarks and cranial nerve exit foramina along the middle and posterior cranial fossae.
4Thoroughly understand Brain Trauma Foundation (BTF) 4th Edition guidelines for ICP monitoring thresholds, CPP targets (60-70 mmHg), and tiered intracranial hypertension management.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the structure of the Saudi Board Neurosurgery Final Written Exam?

Two papers, each with 100–125 single-best-answer MCQs. Up to 10% additional unscored items may be added. Duration is not stated in the written blueprint.

What is the passing score for the Saudi Board Neurosurgery written examination?

The standard pass mark is 70%. If the initial pass rate is under 70%, the passing score is lowered by 1% increments until either a 70% pass rate is achieved or the absolute lower bound of 65% is reached.

Does this question bank prepare for the clinical examination (OSCE/SOE)?

This bank is an independent English-language MCQ study adaptation for the written examination. It does not simulate or replace the separate mandatory final clinical/practical assessment. Consult the specialty clinical blueprint for its station formats and any structured oral or OSCE components.

What content areas receive the highest blueprint weighting?

The official blueprint has thirteen sections. Neurovascular, Neuro-oncology, Pediatric Neurosurgery, Spine, General Neurosurgical Principles and Approaches, Neuro-anatomy, and Neuropathology/Neuroradiology each carry 10%. Neurocritical Care/Pharmacology/Neuro-anesthesia carries 5%.

Who administers the Saudi Board in Neurosurgery?

The examination is governed and administered by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties (SCFHS) Scientific Board of Neurosurgery.