Free Study Guide•Practice questions, flashcards, and related resources

Free ACP AutoCAD Exam Prep

Autodesk Certified Professional in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting

Prepare for the ACP AutoCAD exam without spending hundreds on expensive prep courses. Free study guides, practice questions, flashcards, and related exam resources.

Same family resources

Explore More Autodesk Certifications

Continue into nearby exams from the same family. Each card keeps practice questions, study guides, flashcards, videos, and articles in one place.

Your Study Path

ACP Autodesk Certifications: Study Roadmap

Follow this path to organize your exam preparation

1

Map the BlueprintYou are here

Review Autodesk's five exam domains and weightings, and identify weak areas before drilling questions.

6
hours
2

Author and Edit Content

Focus on blocks, attributes, WBLOCK, arcs, polylines, hatch, arrays, grips, and precision drafting (the heaviest 29% domain).

30
hours
3

Master Annotation and Drawing Management

Drill layers, UCS, MEASUREGEOM/COUNT, drawing health, annotation/table styles, and annotative scaling.

28
hours
4

Finish Output and Collaboration

Practice page setups, layout viewports, PUBLISH/eTransmit, Sheet Set Manager, xref paths, data links, and fields.

20
hours
5

Run Timed Mixed Practice

Simulate a proctored session and remediate weak domains before scheduling at Pearson VUE.

10
hours
Estimated total study time
94 hours
That's about 10 weeks at 10 hours/week

Can You Take the ACP AutoCAD Exam?

Check if you meet the basic eligibility requirements

Age
Education
No formal education requirement is stated for the certification exam.
Experience
Autodesk recommends approximately 400 (minimum) to 1,200 (recommended) hours of AutoCAD experience, about two years of regular use.
Additional Requirements
  • •Questions are answered without access to the AutoCAD software interface.
  • •Item types include multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, active-screen, hot-area, and graphic-interpretation questions.
  • •The exam and proctor are available in English.
  • •The exam covers 2D design workflows in AutoCAD-based applications, including AutoCAD LT.

ACP AutoCAD Quick Facts

Time to Get Licensed

Plan study around your AutoCAD experience and schedule the Pearson VUE / OnVUE appointment once you can answer questions across all five domains without the software.

From start to license in hand

Exam Provider

Pearson VUE test centers and OnVUE online proctoring

Remote Testing Available
Schedule Your Exam

Retake Policy

After a first failed attempt you may reschedule right away, subject to appointment availability; after a second failed attempt you must wait three days (72 hours), and the same wait applies before every later retake (Autodesk Certification Policies).

Total Cost Breakdown

Exam FeeUS$200 standard retail price, per Autodesk's certification page.
Total Estimated Cost
Why Choose Us

Free ACP AutoCAD Prep Tools

Reported exam pass rate: Autodesk does not publish a pass rate for this exam on its public certification pages.. These figures describe exam candidates, not OpenExamPrep user outcomes. Check the exam sponsor’s website for published statistics.

100 Practice Questions

Coverage weighted across all five official ACP AutoCAD exam domains.

2026 Updated

Review Autodesk's current published ACP AutoCAD exam objectives and domain weightings.

Free Access

Practice professional-level AutoCAD reasoning without a paywall.

Compare:
Kaplan $300+•Achievable $200+•OpenExamPrep $0

What You'll Study

12 chapters covering the exam topics in this guide

ACP AutoCAD Exam Details

Autodesk Certified Professional in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting

Administered by Autodesk (delivered through Pearson VUE / OnVUE)

Official Source
Not disclosed. Autodesk scores the exam pass or fail, and passing scores vary by exam and are not disclosed to candidates before they test.
Passing Score
45–60
Questions
120
Minutes
US$200 standard retail price, per Autodesk's certification page; the final price is shown when you purchase the exam through your Autodesk Account.
Exam Fee
Study time: Autodesk does not publish a study-time estimate; it recommends about 400 (minimum) to 1,200 (recommended) hours of real-world AutoCAD experience before testing.
Prerequisites: No formal prerequisite; Autodesk recommends roughly 400 (minimum) to 1,200 (recommended) hours of real-world AutoCAD experience, equivalent to about two years of regular use.

Exam Content Breakdown

Based on the official Autodesk (delivered through Pearson VUE / OnVUE) content outline

Application and Drawing Management22%

Layer creation and management, viewport layer overrides, layer filters, xref layer origins (bound and non-bound), user coordinate systems, the Properties palette, MEASUREGEOM and COUNT, palette behaviors and UI customization, and drawing health (AUDIT, RECOVER, RECOVERALL, purge tools, and the Drawing Recovery Manager).

Design Annotation and Detailing20%

Creating and applying text, dimension, leader, multileader, and table styles; annotative scaling and SCALELISTEDIT; managing annotation scale positions and viewport display; and adding text, multileaders, dimensions, and tables.

Author and Edit Drawing Content29%

Block definitions, attributes, ATTSYNC, WBLOCK, the Blocks palette and clipboard; creating arcs, polylines, offsets, hatches, and arrays; grip and multifunctional-grip editing; and precision drafting with dynamic input, object snaps, and coordinate entry.

Configure and Manage Design Output16%

Named page setups, layout viewports (non-rectangular, insert view, clip, lock, layer control, toggle, viewport scale, and annotation scale), publishing with PUBLISH and page setup overrides, eTransmit, and the Sheet Set Manager (new and imported sheets, subsets, sheet and sheet set properties, renaming, and renumbering).

Collaboration13%

Shared drawings, Traces, and DWGCOMPARE for design feedback; managing xref reference types and path types; manipulating image and underlay frames; and incorporating external data through PDF imports, data links, and fields.

What's Included

12 Chapters

Complete exam coverage

Practice Quizzes

With detailed explanations

Free to Start

No credit card required

Ran Chen - AI Engineer, CFP®
CFP®
Why It's Free

Quality Exam Prep Shouldn't Cost Hundreds

I'm Ran Chen, an engineer with 20+ years of coding experience. I passed my Life Insurance license, EA exam, SIE, Series 6, 63, 65, and finally the CFP® exam.

Through all these exams, one thing became clear: exam prep is expensive. But with AI, we can change that. Quality preparation can now be free for everyone.

About Ran Chen

ACP AutoCAD Exam FAQ

Official Autodesk (delivered through Pearson VUE / OnVUE) Resources

Verify information with these official sources

More Free Resources

Loading...
No Credit Card Required

Ready to Start Your Free ACP AutoCAD Prep?

Review the study guide, practice key concepts, and use the free tools at your own pace.