Free Practice Questions for ACP AutoCAD
Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.
Loading practice questions...
Explore More Autodesk Certifications
Continue into nearby exams from the same family. Each card keeps practice questions, study guides, flashcards, videos, and articles in one place.
Key Facts: ACP AutoCAD Exam
45–60
Exam Questions
Autodesk certification page
120 min
Exam Time
Autodesk certification page
5
Official Exam Domains
Autodesk ACP AutoCAD exam objectives (Dec 2025)
29%
Largest Domain (Author and Edit Content)
Autodesk ACP AutoCAD exam objectives (Dec 2025)
400-1,200 hrs
Recommended AutoCAD Experience
Autodesk ACP AutoCAD exam objectives (Dec 2025)
US$200
Exam Fee (Standard Retail)
Autodesk certification page
Pearson VUE / OnVUE
Exam Delivery
Autodesk Certification
Selected-response
Question Format (no software access)
Autodesk certification FAQ
3 years
Certification Validity
Autodesk certification page
Autodesk's ACP in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting is a proctored Pearson VUE / OnVUE exam with 45–60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, priced at US$200 standard retail, for users with roughly 400 to 1,200 hours of AutoCAD experience. Questions are answered without the software. The December 2025 blueprint spans five domains, led by Author and Edit Drawing Content at 29%, followed by Application and Drawing Management at 22%.
Sample ACP AutoCAD Practice Questions
Try these sample questions to review concepts for the ACP AutoCAD exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 100+ question experience with AI tutoring.
1You attach an xref named SITE-PLAN to the current drawing. After attachment, how do the layers that came from that xref appear in the Layer Properties Manager?
2In a layout viewport you want a specific layer to be frozen only in that viewport while remaining visible in model space and other viewports. Which layer property should you use?
3Which AutoCAD feature lets you automatically display all layers whose names contain the text 'DIM' as a single reusable group in the Layer Properties Manager?
4A layer is named ARCH$0$WALLS in the host drawing. What does this naming convention most likely indicate?
5You want to create a new User Coordinate System aligned to an angled wall so you can draft orthogonally along it, then save that orientation for reuse. Which workflow accomplishes this?
6After creating a custom UCS, you want subsequent objects' origin to be at a specific corner of a part. Which UCS option moves only the origin point while keeping the current X and Y axis directions?
7Using the Properties palette, you select several objects on different layers and change the Color field from 'ByLayer' to red. What is the result?
8You need to find the total enclosed area of an irregular closed polyline and immediately see its perimeter. Which MEASUREGEOM option is most efficient?
9A drawing contains many copies of a 'DOOR' block scattered across several layers. You need an exact tally without manually selecting each one. Which command should you use?
10Which palette interface behavior keeps a palette collapsed to a thin title bar that expands when you hover the cursor over it, freeing screen space?
About the ACP AutoCAD Exam
The Autodesk Certified Professional in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting validates advanced, production-level skills in creating and completing 2D design sets with AutoCAD-based applications, including AutoCAD LT. It is a proctored selected-response exam (no software access during testing) built around five official content domains: application and drawing management, design annotation and detailing, authoring and editing drawing content, configuring and managing design output, and collaboration.
Exam sponsor: Autodesk (delivered through Pearson VUE / OnVUE). The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.
Assessment
Proctored, computer-based exam of 45–60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, answered without access to the AutoCAD software.
Time Limit
120 minutes
Passing Score
Not disclosed. Autodesk scores the exam pass or fail, and passing scores vary by exam and are not disclosed before testing.
Exam / Certification Fees
US$200 standard retail price, per Autodesk's certification page.
Exam sponsor websiteReported exam pass rate: Not published. Autodesk does not publish a pass rate for this exam on its public certification pages. Exam sponsor website
Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.
Our practice resources: topics covered
We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.
Application and Drawing Management
Create and manage layers, apply viewport layer overrides, build layer filters, identify bound and non-bound xref layer origins, manage user coordinate systems, query objects with the Properties palette, MEASUREGEOM, and COUNT, manage palette behaviors and customize the UI, and maintain drawing health with AUDIT, RECOVER, RECOVERALL, the purge tools, and the Drawing Recovery Manager.
Design Annotation and Detailing
Create and apply text, dimension, leader, multileader, and table styles; manage drawing scales with SCALELISTEDIT; assign and position annotative scale representations; ensure annotative objects display correctly in viewports; and add text, multileaders, dimensions, and tables.
Author and Edit Drawing Content
Reuse content via block definitions, attributes, ATTSYNC, WBLOCK, the Blocks palette, and the clipboard; create arcs, polylines, offsets, hatches, and associative arrays; edit geometry with grips and multifunctional grips; and draw with precision using dynamic input, object snaps, and absolute, relative, and polar coordinates.
Configure and Manage Design Output
Configure and manage named page setups, create and manage layout viewports (non-rectangular, insert view, clip, lock, layer control, toggle, scale, annotation scale), publish with PUBLISH and page setup overrides, package with eTransmit, and use the Sheet Set Manager to create or import sheets, manage subsets, edit sheet and sheet set properties, rename, and renumber.
Collaboration
Provide feedback with shared drawings, Traces, and DWGCOMPARE; manage xref reference types (attach and overlay) and path types (full, relative, none); manipulate image and underlay frames; and incorporate external data through PDF imports, data-link tables, and fields.
Preparing for the ACP AutoCAD Exam
What You Need to Know
- Passing score: Not disclosed. Autodesk scores the exam pass or fail, and passing scores vary by exam and are not disclosed before testing.
- Assessment: Proctored, computer-based exam of 45–60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, answered without access to the AutoCAD software.
- Time limit: 120 minutes
- Exam / certification fees: US$200 standard retail price, per Autodesk's certification page. Official sources
Using Our Practice Resources
- Work through all 100 available questions
- Review every answer and explanation
- Track weak areas and revisit them
- Use our AI tutor for tough concepts
ACP AutoCAD: Suggested Study Strategy
Frequently Asked Questions
What does the ACP in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting certify?
It validates advanced, production-level skills in creating and completing 2D design sets with AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT, across five official content domains spanning drawing management, annotation, authoring content, output, and collaboration.
How much AutoCAD experience is recommended?
Autodesk recommends approximately 400 (minimum) to 1,200 (recommended) hours of real-world AutoCAD experience, which is roughly two years of regular professional or academic use.
What question types appear on the exam?
All questions are selected response and are answered without access to AutoCAD. Autodesk lists multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, active-screen, hot-area, and graphic-interpretation items.
Which domain carries the most weight?
Author and Edit Drawing Content is the largest domain at 29%, followed by Application and Drawing Management at 22% and Design Annotation and Detailing at 20%.
Where and how is the exam delivered?
Autodesk delivers the exam through Pearson VUE, at a testing center or online with OnVUE proctoring. It has 45–60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, costs US$200 at standard retail price, and the exam and proctor are available in English. You schedule, pay, and see results through your Autodesk Account.
Is there a fixed passing score?
Autodesk does not publish a passing score. The exam is scored pass or fail, and Autodesk states that passing scores vary by certification exam and are not disclosed to candidates before they take it.
What is the retake policy for the ACP AutoCAD exam?
After a first failed attempt you may reschedule right away, subject to appointment availability. After a second failed attempt you must wait three days (72 hours), and the same three-day wait applies before each later retake, under Autodesk's certification policies.
How long is the certification valid and how do I renew it?
The ACP in AutoCAD for Design and Drafting is valid for three years. To renew, submit a new certification application within the six months before it expires, then schedule, purchase, and pass the exam before the expiration date. Autodesk offers no grace period after expiration.