All Practice Exams

Free Practice Questions for OGE English

Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.

✓ No registration✓ No credit card
20+ Questions
100% Free

Loading practice questions...

Exam Review

Key Facts: OGE English Exam

2026 official task count: 38; primary-score maximum: 68.

Duration: 120 minutes written; 15 minutes oral.

Official format: 35 written tasks, including a personal email, and three recorded speaking tasks; listening audio is part of the written assessment.

Assessment language: Russian instructions and English target-language material.

2026 federal recommendation: grade 3 begins at 29 of 68 primary points; regional authorities approve the final conversion scale.

This is independent practice and an English-language MCQ study adaptation, not an official translation, an official paper or a simulation of the exam language environment. Target-language passages and forms are retained where needed to study the language. Text-based choices cannot replace listening to audio, producing original writing or recording spoken responses.

38 tasks; 120 minutes written; 15 minutes oral; maximum 68 primary points. This is independent practice and an English-language MCQ study adaptation, not an official translation, an official paper or a simulation of the exam language environment. Target-language passages and forms are retained where needed to study the language. Text-based choices cannot replace listening to audio, producing original writing or recording spoken responses.

Sample OGE English Practice Questions

Try these sample questions to review concepts for the OGE English exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 20+ question experience with AI tutoring.

1Read this practice transcript: 'The swimming pool opens at eight, but our lesson starts at half past nine.' When does the lesson start?
A.8:00
B.8:30
C.9:00
D.9:30
Explanation: The speaker separates the pool's opening time from the lesson time. 'Half past nine' means 9:30.
2Read this practice transcript: 'I used to cycle to school. Since the bridge closed, I've taken the bus. Walking would take too long.' How does the speaker currently travel?
A.By bicycle
B.By bus
C.On foot
D.By train
Explanation: The bridge closure changed the speaker's routine. The current means of travel is the bus, not the former bicycle journey.
3Read this practice transcript: 'The science club needs volunteers to show visitors their experiments. You don't need to bring equipment; the school provides it.' What is the announcement mainly doing?
A.Selling laboratory equipment
B.Cancelling a science lesson
C.Recruiting helpers for demonstrations
D.Inviting visitors to buy tickets
Explanation: The announcement asks for volunteers to demonstrate experiments. Equipment is mentioned only to explain what helpers do not need to bring.
4Read this practice transcript: 'The concert was meant to be outside. The forecast was fine, but the electrical equipment wasn't suitable for the garden, so we moved into the hall.' Why was the venue changed?
A.Rain was forecast
B.The garden was too crowded
C.The performers requested a smaller audience
D.The equipment could not be used there
Explanation: The speaker explicitly gives an equipment problem as the reason. The favourable forecast rules out the tempting weather explanation.
5A library notice says: 'Return books through the slot after closing. Collect reserved books at the desk during opening hours.' What can readers do after closing?
A.Return borrowed books
B.Collect reservations at the desk
C.Speak to a librarian
D.Borrow from the shelves
Explanation: The slot allows returns after the library closes. Collection at the desk is explicitly limited to opening hours.
6Read: 'Maya joined the photography club to improve her pictures. She soon discovered that discussing other members' work was more useful than buying a new camera.' Which heading best fits?
A.Choosing expensive equipment
B.Learning through shared feedback
C.Preparing photographs for a competition
D.Finding a camera repair service
Explanation: The passage focuses on learning by discussing photographs with others. It contrasts that benefit with purchasing equipment.
7Read: 'The museum opened its new gallery in March. School groups can visit on weekdays, but booking is required.' Classify this statement using only the passage: 'School groups need to book their visits.'
A.False
B.Not stated
C.True
D.True only for weekend visits
Explanation: The passage directly says that booking is required for school groups. This is stated evidence, rather than an inference about ordinary museum visitors.
8Read: 'Daniel entered a short-story competition and received a certificate. The organisers displayed his story online.' Classify: 'Daniel won first prize.'
A.True because he received a certificate
B.False because his story appeared online
C.False because certificates are never prizes
D.Not stated
Explanation: Neither a certificate nor online publication establishes a ranking. The text does not say whether Daniel won first prize.
9Choose the past simple form of BUY: 'Yesterday Nina ___ a notebook.'
A.bought
B.buyed
C.buy
D.buying
Explanation: BUY has the irregular past simple form 'bought'. The explicit instruction asks for that tense, avoiding a choice between different narrative perspectives.
10Form an adjective from DANGER: 'The guide warned us that the path was ___. ' Which form fits?
A.danger
B.dangerously
C.dangerous
D.endanger
Explanation: The linking verb 'was' needs an adjective describing the path. 'Dangerous' is the adjective formed from DANGER.

About the OGE English Exam

Main State Exam (ОГЭ) in English Language is a current 2026 subject assessment within Russian state final certification. 35 written tasks, including a personal email, and three recorded speaking tasks; listening audio is part of the written assessment. The maximum primary score is 68. Assessment language: Russian instructions and English target-language material. This is independent practice and an English-language MCQ study adaptation, not an official translation, an official paper or a simulation of the exam language environment. Target-language passages and forms are retained where needed to study the language. Text-based choices cannot replace listening to audio, producing original writing or recording spoken responses. This bank contains 20 reviewed study questions. It is a selective learning resource, not complete coverage of every official topic or a replica of an examination paper.

Exam sponsor: Rosobrnadzor / FIPI. The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.

Questions

38 questions

Time Limit

120 minutes written; 15 minutes oral

Passing Score

2026 federal recommendation: grade 3 begins at 29 of 68 primary points; regional authorities approve the final conversion scale.

Exam / Certification Fees

A current official fee statement was not confirmed in the sources checked; ask the regional examination authority.

Exam sponsor website

Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.

Official sources

Our practice resources: topics covered

We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.

15/68 primary points (22.1%)

Listening

Transcript comprehension is text study, not an audio test.

13/68 (19.1%)

Reading

Main ideas, details, and inference.

15/68 (22.1%)

Grammar and vocabulary

Forms and word meaning in context.

10/68 (14.7%)

Writing

Personal email with a target length of 100–120 words.

15/68 (22.1%)

Speaking

Reading aloud, survey responses, and a thematic monologue.

Preparing for the OGE English Exam

What You Need to Know

  • Passing score: 2026 federal recommendation: grade 3 begins at 29 of 68 primary points; regional authorities approve the final conversion scale.
  • Exam length: 38 questions
  • Time limit: 120 minutes written; 15 minutes oral
  • Exam / certification fees: A current official fee statement was not confirmed in the sources checked; ask the regional examination authority. Official sources

Using Our Practice Resources

  • Work through all 20 available questions
  • Review every answer and explanation
  • Track weak areas and revisit them
  • Use our AI tutor for tough concepts

OGE English: Suggested Study Strategy

1Use the approved 2026 FIPI specification and codifier to check the full assessed scope.
2Review the worked feedback here, then explain your reasoning without looking at the choices.
3Practise the official response methods separately, including complete written, spoken, laboratory, or computer work where required.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the official 2026 assessment format?

35 written tasks, including a personal email, and three recorded speaking tasks; listening audio is part of the written assessment. Assessment language: Russian instructions and English target-language material.

How is the result assessed?

2026 federal recommendation: grade 3 begins at 29 of 68 primary points; regional authorities approve the final conversion scale.

Does this bank reproduce the official assessment?

This is independent practice and an English-language MCQ study adaptation, not an official translation, an official paper or a simulation of the exam language environment. Target-language passages and forms are retained where needed to study the language. Text-based choices cannot replace listening to audio, producing original writing or recording spoken responses.

Who can take the assessment?

The OGE is part of grade 9 state final certification. Confirm admission requirements, the final oral-interview result and any permitted accommodations with the school or regional authority.

What is the examination fee?

A current official fee statement was not confirmed in the sources checked; ask the regional examination authority.

How much of the exam does this bank cover?

This bank contains 20 reviewed study questions. It is a selective learning resource, not complete coverage of every official topic or a replica of an examination paper. Use the official codifier and complete original-response practice to address the full assessment.