All Practice Exams

Free Practice Questions for ANRE Electrician Authorization

Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.

✓ No registration✓ No credit card
30+ Questions
100% Free

Loading practice questions...

Exam Review

Key Facts: ANRE Electrician Authorization Exam

25

Official question count

Order 66/2023, Annex 1

60 minutes

Official test duration

Order 66/2023, Annex 1

18 / 25

Minimum passing score

Order 66/2023, Annex 1

30 independent English-language study questions for ANRE electrician authorization topics. The official exam is a 25-item Romanian written test; select the official bibliography for your grade/type.

Sample ANRE Electrician Authorization Practice Questions

Try these sample questions to review concepts for the ANRE Electrician Authorization exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 30+ question experience with AI tutoring.

1Which authority administers the Romanian electrician authorization procedure under Order 66/2023?
A.Inspectoratul de Stat în Construcții (ISC)
B.Autoritatea Națională de Reglementare în domeniul Energiei (ANRE)
C.The local electricity distribution operator
D.The municipality issuing the building permit
Explanation: ANRE administers the electrician authorization procedure established by Order 66/2023. Construction inspection, network operation, and building permission are separate functions.
2Under Article 9 of the ANRE authorization regulation, which work falls within Grade I's technical scope? Assume all other legal conditions are satisfied.
A.Design of a 6 kW interior installation at 230 V
B.Execution of an interior installation with 15 kW installed power at 230 V
C.Execution of an interior installation with 8 kW installed power at 230 V
D.Execution of an 8 kW installation at a nominal voltage of 6 kV
Explanation: Grade I covers execution of interior electrical installations with installed power at most 10 kW and nominal voltage below 1 kV. It does not confer a design authorization.
3For ANRE Grades II–IV, what do authorization types A and B distinguish?
A.Type A permits design (proiectare); type B permits execution (executare)
B.Type A concerns alternating current; type B concerns direct current
C.Type A concerns overhead lines; type B concerns underground cables
D.Type A concerns buildings; type B concerns industrial sites
Explanation: Types A and B distinguish design from execution. The grade separately defines the voltage scope; holding one type does not automatically confer the other.
4An electrician holds Grade IIB only. A client requests execution of a 6 kV installation, regardless of its modest power. What is the correct scope decision under Article 9?
A.Accept because Grade II has no installed-power ceiling
B.Accept if a Grade IIA designer signs the drawings
C.Accept after the client signs a waiver
D.Do not accept under IIB alone because its nominal-voltage scope is below 1 kV
Explanation: Grade IIB permits execution at any technically achievable power but only at nominal voltages below 1 kV. Unlimited power does not remove the voltage restriction.
5An ANRE authorization's five-year periodic endorsement (vizare periodică) has expired. What follows from Article 18 of the authorization regulation?
A.The permanent professional qualification alone permits continued authorized practice
B.The right to perform activities covered by the authorization resumes only after the required endorsement
C.A client may grant an automatic six-month extension
D.The electrician must permanently abandon the qualification
Explanation: The professional qualification is permanent, but exercising the authorized activities requires a current periodic endorsement. Expiry suspends that right until endorsement is obtained.
6During execution, an authorized electrician identifies a technical nonconformity in the design. Which response follows the duties in Article 37 of the ANRE regulation?
A.Make an undocumented substitution and sign the original design
B.Proceed because design responsibility excludes all execution duties
C.Notify the designer and resolve the nonconformity through the proper design process
D.Ask the client to approve an oral change instead of consulting the designer
Explanation: The executor must follow the design and notify the designer of identified nonconformities. An undocumented field substitution does not provide a controlled resolution.
7In a TN-S installation, which arrangement distinguishes the protective conductor from the neutral downstream of the supply point?
A.One PEN conductor serves both functions throughout
B.PE carries normal load current instead of neutral
C.Neutral is omitted from every single-phase circuit
D.Separate PE and N conductors perform the protective and neutral functions
Explanation: TN-S uses separate protective and neutral conductors. PE provides the protective connection and is not intended to carry normal load current.
8A designer proposes an RCD in the TN-C portion of a TN-C-S supply, before PEN separation. Which correction is needed?
A.Place the RCD in the TN-S portion after separation, with PE outside its sensing circuit
B.Switch the PEN open whenever the RCD trips
C.Reconnect PE and N downstream of the RCD
D.Increase the RCD residual-current rating to permit TN-C installation
Explanation: I7 prohibits residual-current protection in TN-C; in TN-C-S it belongs on the TN-S side. PE remains separate, and PE and N must not be recombined downstream of the separation.
9What does an RCD principally detect?
A.Any current above the cable's thermal rating
B.An imbalance between currents in the live conductors passing through its sensing device
C.Every voltage drop along PE
D.Only a balanced line-to-neutral short circuit
Explanation: An RCD detects residual current as an imbalance in the monitored live conductors. Residual-current protection alone does not replace overload and short-circuit protection.
10Use the overload design condition Ib ≤ In ≤ Iz. With design current Ib = 18 A and corrected cable capacity Iz = 24 A, which listed device rating meets this condition?
A.16 A
B.25 A
C.20 A
D.32 A
Explanation: 20 A lies between the 18 A design current and the 24 A cable capacity. This is one selection check; operating characteristics and fault protection also require verification.

About the ANRE Electrician Authorization Exam

Independent practice for Examen de autorizare electrician. These 30 English-language MCQs concentrate on authorization duties, low-voltage installation principles, safety, and calculations. The official bibliography is broader and varies by grade/type; this bank does not cover every high-voltage, network, supply-contract, or regulatory topic. It is not an official translation, a format simulation, or a substitute for practical electrical training.

Exam sponsor: Autoritatea Națională de Reglementare în domeniul Energiei (ANRE). The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.

Assessment

Annex 1 of Order 66/2023 specifies a written Romanian questionnaire, printed papers and answer forms, 60 minutes, and a minimum of 18 points out of 25. The standard electrician examination does not specify a separate oral, practical, case-study, or assignment component. Application evidence and other ANRE categories' interviews are distinct from this written test.

Time Limit

60 minutes

Passing Score

18 / 25 points (72%)

Exam / Certification Fees

Authorization: 250 RON for Grade I or II–IV A or B; 500 RON for II–IV A+B (2026 schedule)

Exam sponsor website

Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.

Official sources

Our practice resources: topics covered

We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.

6 practice questions

Authorization and duties

Scope, grades/types, endorsement, and design nonconformities.

10 practice questions

Installation principles

Earthing, RCDs, cable selection, harmonics, and protective-device coordination.

8 practice questions

Safety and verification

Isolation, emergency priorities, protective conductors, IT monitoring, and test limitations.

6 practice questions

Calculations

Given-input numerical exercises; their assumptions are not universal regulatory limits.

Preparing for the ANRE Electrician Authorization Exam

What You Need to Know

  • Passing score: 18 / 25 points (72%)
  • Assessment: Annex 1 of Order 66/2023 specifies a written Romanian questionnaire, printed papers and answer forms, 60 minutes, and a minimum of 18 points out of 25. The standard electrician examination does not specify a separate oral, practical, case-study, or assignment component. Application evidence and other ANRE categories' interviews are distinct from this written test.
  • Time limit: 60 minutes
  • Exam / certification fees: Authorization: 250 RON for Grade I or II–IV A or B; 500 RON for II–IV A+B (2026 schedule) Official sources

Using Our Practice Resources

  • Work through all 30 available questions
  • Review every answer and explanation
  • Track weak areas and revisit them
  • Use our AI tutor for tough concepts

ANRE Electrician Authorization: Suggested Study Strategy

1Check the current official session notice and the CPA/experience table for your requested grade and type.
2Study current Romanian regulations directly; avoid memorizing a cable size, earth resistance, or safety distance without its conditions.
3For calculations, distinguish line-to-line voltage, active and apparent power, and mechanical output from electrical input.
4Use supervised practical training for isolation, testing, installation, and emergency procedures.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the official exam written or oral?

The standard electrician route in Annex 1 is a written Romanian test with 25 three-option questions, one correct answer per item, and 60 minutes. Passing requires at least 18 points. Separate ANRE categories and exceptional authorization routes should not be confused with this standard examination.

Is this an official translation or exam simulation?

No. This is an independent English-language MCQ study adaptation with four options per question. Exact Romanian names and technical terms are retained where useful. Study the Romanian official materials and undertake appropriate practical training; this bank does not replace either.

Does every electrician need the same qualification and experience?

No. ANRE's CPA and experience tables distinguish qualifications, grades, types, and kinds of experience. Qualified staff can also perform applicable work under authorized supervision under the regulation; individual authorization is not a universal prerequisite for every supervised worker.

How should I use the topic distribution?

The counts describe this limited practice set, not official exam weights. The official bibliography varies by grade/type and includes topics beyond this bank's low-voltage focus.

What are the 2026 authorization tariffs?

Order 82/2025, Annex 3 Table 1, lists 250 RON for Grade I or Grades II–IV A or B and 500 RON for Grades II–IV A+B. Periodic endorsement costs 125 RON for a single type, including Grade I, or 250 RON for A+B. These are ANRE tariffs; training and other preparation costs are separate.