PracticeVideosBlogFlashcards

1.1 Current Exam Facts & Format

Key Takeaways

  • Current Workday certification assessments have a 2-hour limit and up to 55 items: 50 scored and, on some exams, five unscored items.

  • Workday reports Pass or Fail without a numerical score. A current HCM Core passing percentage and pass rate are not publicly published.

  • Each attempt costs one Training Credit; Workday requires four calendar days after the most recent attempt before reenrollment.

  • Workday Pro certification requires a proctored recertification exam every two years.

  • Workday publicly names the six HCM Core concepts plus navigation and Report Writer, but does not publish current HCM Core topic weights.

Last updated: September 2026

Current Exam Facts and Source Dates

Workday Pro HCM Core is a certification for people who configure and maintain Workday HCM. Workday’s current HCM certification page identifies navigation, supervisory organizations, staffing models, job profiles, compensation, security, business processes, and Report Writer as the public scope. The current exams policy, updated September 23, 2026, supplies the assessment format and retake rules.

AttributeCurrent public Workday policy
Assessment length2 hours
ItemsUp to 55: 50 scored, with five unscored items on some assessments
ResultPass or Fail; Workday does not provide a numerical score
HCM Core passing thresholdNot publicly published in current Workday policy
HCM Core pass rateNot published by Workday
CostOne Training Credit per initial-certification attempt; customer waivers may apply
Retake waitFour calendar days after the most recent attempt before reenrollment
RecertificationA proctored exam every two years for each certification held

The five unscored items, when present, are indistinguishable during the assessment. Treat every question as consequential. A 2-hour session with 50 scored items gives 2 minutes 24 seconds per scored item; if the assessment has 55 displayed items, the average time per displayed item is about 2 minutes 11 seconds. Use those figures only as pacing aids, because Workday does not disclose which items are unscored.

Why an Older Workday PDF Differs

An older Workday Pro HCM Core Exam Guide lists 50 questions, 100 minutes, an 80% passing score, two included attempts, later attempts at 0.5 Training Credits, and 30/10/10 course counts. Its logistics conflict with Workday’s current exams and FAQ pages. The older task list can help organize practice on enduring HCM concepts, but those numbers and task IDs do not establish the current assessment format or topic weights. If your Learning Center program supplies a current HCM Core guide, use it for certification-specific details.

A Practical Pacing Plan

  1. Read the complete prompt and all response options before choosing. Workday’s current public policy does not disclose which items are unscored.
  2. Move past a difficult item rather than allowing it to consume time needed for several others. Check your progress against the 2-hour timer.
  3. Use the post-exam topic outcome report to target weak areas. Workday does not provide a numerical score, so avoid reconstructing a raw score or a precise miss budget.

Retakes and Maintaining the Credential

A failed attempt requires a four-calendar-day wait before reenrollment. Workday says candidates may retake without repeating courses, while also advising them to check their organization’s policies. The exam costs one Training Credit per initial-certification attempt. A pass begins an active certification period; maintaining it requires a proctored recertification exam every two years.

Workday’s Pro FAQ describes the customer benefits of certification, including a digital badge, the Workday Pro Vantage Hub, and the Touchpoints Kit. Those benefits and program steps are distinct from the assessment’s confidential passing decision.

Recertification pricing is separate: the current Workday Pro FAQ lists 0.25 Training Credits per recertification exam attempt. The one-credit statements above describe initial-certification attempts, including retries on that route.

Test Your Knowledge

How does Workday report a current certification exam result?

A

Pass or Fail, without a numerical score

B

An 80% or higher raw score on the public report

C

A 700-point scaled score

D

The number of unscored items answered correctly

Test Your Knowledge

How many scored items does Workday’s current general certification assessment policy describe?

A

25 scored items in every assessment

B

40 scored items plus 10 essays

C

50 scored items, with up to five additional unscored items on some assessments

D

55 scored items in every assessment

Test Your Knowledge

After an unsuccessful Workday Pro exam attempt, when can a candidate reenroll under current Workday policy?

A

Immediately with no waiting period

B

After four calendar days from the most recent attempt

C

Only after 90 calendar days

D

Only after completing the entire recommended course sequence again

Test Your Knowledge

Which benefit does Workday describe for certified Workday Pros?

A

Lifetime free access to every Workday Education course

B

Automatic Workday employee status

C

A guaranteed public consulting contract

D

A digital badge and access to customer Pro resources such as the Vantage Hub and Touchpoints Kit

Sections you finish are checked off in the contents.