0.1 Current Exam Facts & Scheme
Key Takeaways
The current IICA scheme specifies 50 MCQs for 100 marks in 75 minutes: 25 direct Board Essential questions and 25 scenario-based Board Practice questions; the pass mark is at least 50% aggregate.
IICA conducts the test under Rule 6(1) of the Companies (Appointment and Qualification of Directors) Rules, 2014, supporting Section 150(1) of the Companies Act, 2013, via the Independent Directors Databank.
The four published topic areas are Companies Law, Securities Law, Basic Accountancy, and Corporate Governance; attempts are unlimited, and the current public rule requires a one-day gap between booked slots.
The test fee is included in databank subscription (₹5,000 + 18% GST for 1 year; ₹15,000 + 18% GST for 5 years; ₹25,000 + 18% GST lifetime); passing yields an e-certificate.
Passing is not a standalone board licence—it enables or retains your inclusion in the databank so companies can appoint you as an Independent Director.
0.1 Current Exam Facts & Scheme
Quick Answer: The Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs (IICA) runs a 50-question, 100-mark, 75-minute online proctored self-assessment for Independent Directors. The current scheme splits it into 25 direct Board Essential questions and 25 scenario-based Board Practice questions. The pass mark is 50%, attempts are unlimited with a one-day gap between bookings, and the fee is bundled into your Independent Directors Databank subscription. The public scheme does not state a negative-marking rule, so check the logged-in candidate instructions rather than assuming one. A pass keeps your name in the databank—it is not a separate “board licence.” Unless you are exempt, you must pass within two years of inclusion or your name is removed.
Why this test exists
India reformed the independent-director framework after the Companies Act, 2013. Section 150(1) contemplates a data bank of persons willing and eligible to be appointed as independent directors, maintained by a body notified by the Central Government. The Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA) operationalised that framework through the Independent Directors Databank at https://www.independentdirectorsdatabank.in/, with IICA as the institutional engine for capacity building and the online proficiency self-assessment.
The legal trigger for the test itself is Rule 6(1) of the Companies (Appointment and Qualification of Directors) Rules, 2014 (as amended). In plain language: once your name is included in the databank, you must demonstrate a baseline of board-relevant knowledge by clearing IICA’s online self-assessment—unless you fall within a statutory exemption (covered in the next section). If you do not pass within two years of inclusion, your name stands removed from the databank (Rule 6(5) allows restoration on a ₹1,000 fee, with one more year to pass—see section 0.2). That removal matters because listed and many large public companies treat databank eligibility as a practical gate for independent-director appointments.
Think of the test as a public-interest quality filter, not a commercial certification product. The state wants Independent Directors who can read a balance sheet, understand related-party rules, apply Schedule IV norms, and recognise SEBI LODR and insider-trading basics—before they sit on audit or nomination committees.
Who conducts it and where you take it
| Element | Detail |
|---|---|
| Conducting body | Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs (IICA), under MCA |
| Portal | Independent Directors Databank — independentdirectorsdatabank.in |
| Statutory peg | Section 150(1), Companies Act, 2013 + Rule 6(1), Appointment & Qualification Rules, 2014 |
| Mode | Online computer-based test (CBT), proctored |
| Mock test | Available on the databank portal for familiarisation |
You book and attempt the assessment through your databank login. You do not walk into a third-party test centre like a GRE-style exam; it is a remote/online proctored CBT arranged via the official platform. That means you must treat environment, identity verification, camera/microphone permissions, and stable internet as part of exam-day logistics—not optional extras.
Exact exam format (memorise these numbers)
| Parameter | Official scheme |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 50 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) |
| Total marks | 100 (2 marks per question) |
| Duration | 75 minutes |
| Question split | 25 Board Essential (direct) + 25 Board Practice (scenario-based) |
| Negative marking | Not stated on the current public scheme; confirm in the logged-in candidate instructions |
| Passing score | ≥ 50% aggregate (i.e., at least 50 marks out of 100) |
| Attempts | Unlimited while subscription/inclusion rules allow |
| Re-booking gap | 1 day between two booked slots under the current public rule |
| Current public slots | Two windows: 2:00–3:00 PM and 8:00–9:00 PM (IST); the live booking calendar controls if the schedule changes |
| Result / proof | e-certificate on successful pass |
How scoring works in practice
The current public scheme does not state whether wrong answers attract a penalty. Read the logged-in candidate instructions before the attempt. With 50 questions for 100 marks, a sound strategy is:
- First pass: answer every question you know cold.
- Second pass: eliminate obviously wrong options on medium items.
- Final pass: follow the live marking instructions; use elimination, and guess rather than leave blanks only if the candidate guide confirms there is no penalty.
You need 50 marks. That is not a high bar relative to many professional exams, but the syllabus is wide (company law + securities law + accountancy + governance). Moderate difficulty comes from breadth and application, not from a 80–90% cut score.
Timing discipline (75 minutes ÷ 50 questions)
Average available time is about 90 seconds per question. Many candidates finish earlier; others burn time on long statutory wording. Build a personal rule such as:
- ≤ 60 seconds on pure recall items (definitions, thresholds, percentages).
- Up to ~2 minutes on application vignettes (board composition, RPT approval path, LODR committee questions).
- Mark and move rather than spiral—return if the platform allows flagging.
Syllabus domains the exam actually tests
The databank / IICA scheme groups content under four topic clusters. Align study time to weight of law plus personal weak spots, not to “what sounds prestigious.”
| Domain (portal language) | What it really covers | Suggested study emphasis (editorial, not official) |
|---|---|---|
| Companies Law | Companies Act, 2013 focus—especially directors, meetings, committees, CSR, accounts/audit basics, RPTs | 30% suggested |
| Corporate Governance | Role of IDs, Schedule IV Code, board effectiveness, ethics, evaluation, stakeholder lens | 30% suggested |
| Basic Accountancy | Balance sheet, P&L, cash flow, ratios, reading audit signals | 20% suggested |
| Securities Law | SEBI LODR board/committee/ID obligations, disclosures, PIT/UPSI basics | 20% suggested |
These four labels are the official topic umbrella, but IICA does not publish topic percentages. The percentages above are this guide’s study allocation, not an exam blueprint. Later chapters of this guide unpack statute section numbers (for example Chapter XI, Schedule IV, SEBI LODR Regulations 17, 18, 19, and 25) that sit underneath the labels.
Fees: included in databank subscription (not a separate “exam ticket”)
Unlike many professional exams with a standalone registration fee, the proficiency test fee is included in your Independent Directors Databank subscription. IICA’s FAQ lists these subscription fees (exclusive of GST; add 18% GST):
| Plan | Base fee | With 18% GST |
|---|---|---|
| 1 year | ₹5,000 | ₹5,000 + ₹900 = ₹5,900 |
| 5 years | ₹15,000 | ₹15,000 + ₹2,700 = ₹17,700 |
| Lifetime | ₹25,000 | ₹25,000 + ₹4,500 = ₹29,500 |
Always reconfirm live fees on the official portal before paying—MCA/IICA may revise rates. The strategic point for exam prep is: once you are a paid registrant with an active profile, you schedule the self-assessment without a separate per-attempt exam invoice. Unlimited attempts matter only while your inclusion/subscription status remains valid and the two-year pass window (next section) still runs.
Slot logistics: two daily windows and the one-day gap
The current public page lists two daily slots: 2:00–3:00 PM and 8:00–9:00 PM IST. The live booking calendar remains authoritative if IICA changes that schedule.
The current public rule requires a one-day gap between two booked slots. If you fail or miss a slot, the next slot can be booked only after one day from the previous booked date and time.
Mock test and e-certificate
- Mock test: The portal provides a mock / practice self-assessment so you can experience interface timing and question style before the scored attempt. Use it after you have covered core statute, not as your first study activity.
- e-certificate: On achieving ≥50%, the system issues an electronic certificate evidencing that you have passed the online proficiency self-assessment. Retain PDF downloads and portal screenshots for company secretarial files and appointment paperwork.
What passing is—and is not
Passing does
- Satisfy the Rule 6 proficiency requirement for databank inclusion (subject to other profile completeness rules).
- Provide documentary proof (e-certificate) that you cleared the MCA/IICA self-assessment.
- Make you usable to nominating committees searching the databank for Independent Director candidates.
- Signal basic literacy across company law, securities law, accountancy, and governance.
Passing does not
- Automatically appoint you to any board.
- Replace DIN, fit-and-proper checks, conflict reviews, or company-specific due diligence.
- Override Section 149 independence criteria, age/tenure limits, or LODR composition rules at the company level.
- Function as a perpetual “licence to direct” if your databank profile later lapses or other disqualifications arise under the Act.
In short: the self-assessment is a gate for databank eligibility, which is the market infrastructure companies use to find Independent Directors. Without the pass (or a valid exemption), the gate closes—even if you are otherwise an excellent candidate.
Exam-day readiness checklist
- Active databank login and confirmed slot booking.
- Valid ID and profile details matching PAN/DIN fields used at registration.
- Quiet room, charged device, wired or strong Wi-Fi, camera/mic enabled for proctoring.
- No unauthorised materials—treat it as a closed-book proctored test.
- Time plan and a marking strategy based on the live candidate instructions; do not assume that wrong answers are penalty-free.
- Post-result download of e-certificate if you pass; if not, schedule the next lawful slot after the gap rule.
How this section connects to the rest of the guide
You now know the container: 50 MCQs, 100 marks, 75 minutes, 50% pass, four domains, portal-based booking, subscription-bundled fee. The next section explains who must register, the two-year deadline, and exemptions that skip the test entirely. Section 0.3 then maps a study plan to the four domains and this guide’s chapters so you convert facts into a pass on the first or second attempt.
What is the minimum aggregate score required to pass the IICA Independent Director Online Proficiency Self-Assessment?
50% of 100 marks
40% of 100 marks
60% of 100 marks
70% of 100 marks
Under which rule of the Companies (Appointment and Qualification of Directors) Rules, 2014 does IICA conduct the online proficiency self-assessment?
Rule 3 relating to number of directorships
Rule 4 relating to small companies
Rule 5 relating to qualifications of independent directors
Rule 6(1) relating to the databank and proficiency self-assessment
Which statement correctly describes fees and attempts for the proficiency test?
Each attempt costs a separate ₹2,000 exam fee, limited to three lifetime attempts
Only the lifetime ₹25,000 plan includes free attempts; annual subscribers pay per try
Government nominees always pay a reduced ₹500 fee per attempt with negative marking
The test fee is included in databank subscription, and attempts are unlimited subject to portal/subscription rules
What does passing the IICA online proficiency self-assessment primarily enable?
Automatic appointment as Independent Director of any listed company for five years
Exemption from all SEBI LODR board-composition requirements
Inclusion or continued eligibility in the Independent Directors Databank so companies can appoint you as an ID
A permanent DIN with immunity from disqualification under Section 164
Sections you finish are checked off in the contents.