18.1 Nervous System, Pain Management, and Outpatient Spine

Key Takeaways

  • Interlaminar or caudal epidural injections (62320–62327) and transforaminal injections (64479–64484) are different families; image-guided interlaminar codes 62321/62323/62325/62327 include 77003 and 77012
  • Facet joint or medial-branch injection (64490–64495) is not radiofrequency destruction of facet nerves (64633–64636); both families already include imaging guidance
  • NCCI Chapter VIII: fluoroscopy 76000 is not separately reported with spinal procedures unless CPT gives a specific exception; laminotomy is not reported with laminectomy on the same vertebra
  • An SCS percutaneous trial is not a permanent generator or laminectomy-approach paddle implant; confirm current IPO status indicator C and the ASC CPL before coding the implant (CMS-1834-FC CY 2026 IPO phase-out began with 285 mostly musculoskeletal procedures, not a blanket neurostimulator waiver)
  • Percutaneous vertebroplasty (22510–22512) and vertebral augmentation (22513–22515) use one primary plus the add-on for additional thoracic or lumbar levels, contiguous or not
Last updated: September 2026

18.1 Nervous System, Pain Management, and Outpatient Spine

Quick Answer: Match the procedure note to the correct injection or decompression familyinterlaminar/caudal epidural versus transforaminal, facet/medial-branch injection versus radiofrequency (RF) destruction, percutaneous vertebral augmentation versus laminotomy versus laminectomy—then apply that family's primary plus add-on and laterality rules. Fluoroscopy is usually included. A spinal cord stimulator (SCS) trial is not a permanent implant, and an implant still needs a current inpatient-only (IPO) and Ambulatory Surgical Center Covered Procedures List (ASC CPL) check.

This independent OpenExamPrep chapter helps learners study facility nervous-system, eye, ear, and ambulatory surgical center (ASC) versus hospital outpatient department (HOPD) coding for the American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) Certified Outpatient Coder (COC) exam. Surgery and modifiers is the largest official domain (22 of 100 questions) and covers procedures approved for outpatient hospital and ASC facilities. OpenExamPrep does not claim AAPC, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), or American Medical Association (AMA) approval or partnership.

Why pain and limited spine belong on a facility exam

Same-day surgery and interventional-pain schedules are full of epidural steroids, facet work, vertebral augmentation, and one-level lumbar decompressions. The COC is not a pain-medicine board. It tests whether the facility coder can (1) match the approach in the note to the correct Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) family, (2) stop unbundling imaging guidance, (3) report levels and laterality the way the family is built, and (4) refuse to drop an IPO or non-CPL implant onto an outpatient or ASC claim merely because a trial succeeded last month.

National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) 2026 Policy Manual, Chapter VIII, is the bundling chapter for CPT 60000–69999 (endocrine, nervous, eye, and auditory). Chapter I still applies. Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) packaging and ASC payment indicators still apply after the CPT is correct. Facility claims do not use the professional global surgical package to erase today's procedure, but they still obey NCCI procedure-to-procedure (PTP) edits.

Interlaminar or caudal epidural versus transforaminal

An epidural steroid injection is not one code. The note must show where the needle went.

Interlaminar (and caudal) injections place diagnostic or therapeutic substance into the epidural or subarachnoid space from the midline or sacral hiatus. The 62320–62327 family splits cervical/thoracic versus lumbar/sacral, without imaging versus with fluoroscopic or computed tomography (CT) guidance, and single injection versus continuous catheter. 62321 and 62323 are the common image-guided interlaminar therapeutic injections. NCCI Chapter VIII §C.21: imaging such as 77003 (fluoroscopic needle-tip localization for spine or paraspinous injection) or 77012 (CT guidance for needle placement) is included in 62321, 62323, 62325, and 62327. Do not add 77003 because a C-arm was in the room.

Transforaminal injections enter along a nerve-root foramen. They live in a different family (64479–64484): cervical/thoracic versus lumbar/sacral, single level versus each additional level. Those descriptors already include image guidance (fluoroscopy or CT). Medicare epidural coverage articles (for example article A58995) instruct that a T12–L1 transforaminal injection is reported with the cervical/thoracic primary in that family, not the lumbar primary.

Do not report interlaminar and transforaminal at the same level and session as if they were two complete epidurals. NCCI Chapter VIII §C.17: 62320–62327 are included in more invasive spinal procedures at the same encounter. Local anesthetic needed to perform a spinal puncture is included; do not invent a facet block as anesthesia for the puncture (§C.10). If cerebrospinal fluid is withdrawn during a nerve-block procedure, that withdrawal is not a separately reported diagnostic puncture (§C.11).

What the note showsFamily to openImaging and extras
Midline interlaminar or caudal epidural or subarachnoid injection62320–62327 by region, with versus without imaging, injection versus catheterFluoro/CT is inside 62321/62323/62325/62327; do not add 77003 or 77012
Transforaminal / selective nerve-root injection64479–64484 by region; add-on for each additional levelImaging included in the descriptor
Diagnostic or therapeutic facet joint (intra-articular) or medial branch injection64490–64495 by region and levelImaging included
RF / neurolytic destruction of facet joint nerve(s)64633–64636 by region and jointImaging included
Percutaneous vertebroplasty22510–22512Included; one primary plus add-on for extra thoracic or lumbar levels
Percutaneous vertebral augmentation (kyphoplasty-type)22513–22515Included; one primary plus add-on

Facet injection versus RF ablation, levels, and laterality

A facet injection (or medial-branch block) instills anesthetic and/or steroid at a joint or along the nerve that supplies it. An RF ablation destroys that nerve pathway. They are not synonyms and are not automatically both payable at the same joints in one session. If the note is a diagnostic or therapeutic block, stay in 64490–64495. If the note is thermal or chemical destruction of the facet nerve(s), open 64633–64636.

Level math is family math. Cervical/thoracic facet injections use a primary for the first level and add-on codes for the second and third (and additional) levels. Lumbar/sacral uses its own primary/add-on trio. You do not report three primary codes for three contiguous lumbar facets. RF uses the same primary-plus-add-on idea per facet joint.

Laterality. Unilateral work takes LT or RT when the code is not already laterality-specific. Bilateral work on hospital OPPS claims that take modifier 50 is typically one line, modifier 50, one unit (Medicare Claims Processing Manual (MCPM) Chapter 4 §20.6.2). Medicare ASC bilateral surgical reporting is two lines with LT and RT (or Chapter 14's two-unit construction). NCCI Chapter VIII §H.9 states the practitioner/HOPD 50-with-one-unit Medically Unlikely Edit (MUE) pattern does not apply to an ASC. Do not copy a professional-claim slogan onto every facility line.

NCCI Chapter VIII §C.20: fluoroscopy 76000 shall not be reported with spinal procedures unless a specific CPT instruction says it is separately reportable. For some spinal procedures a more specific radiologic guidance code exists; for others fluoro replaces an intraoperative radiograph that is already in the operation; for others fluoro is integral. Chapter VIII §I.15: if the code descriptor, CPT instruction, or CMS instruction says the procedure includes radiologic guidance, do not add fluoroscopy, ultrasound, CT, or magnetic resonance guidance codes.

SCS trial versus implant, pumps, and site-of-service caveats

SCS trial usually means percutaneous implantation of an epidural electrode array (commonly the 63650 family) for a screening period, with an external generator. Permanent implant means a new pulse generator or receiver (63685 is insertion or replacement of a new generator) plus the electrodes that will remain. NCCI Chapter VIII §C.16: 63685 requires a new generator. If the same generator is removed and relocated in a pocket, report revision (63688), not replacement. Do not report removal plus replacement when one new generator is placed; replacement already includes taking the old device out. Two generators in two pockets can be a replacement plus a removal with an NCCI-associated modifier when the record truly shows two batteries.

Paddle/plate electrodes placed through a laminotomy or laminectomy (63655 family) are a more invasive approach than a percutaneous trial lead. NCCI sets the MUE for removal of percutaneous arrays (63661) and removal of paddle/plate electrodes (63662) at 1, because each descriptor already means some or all arrays or paddles for that generator (§H.3).

IPO and ASC-CPL caveats. A successful outpatient trial does not prove the implant is payable in the HOPD or the ASC. CMS's CY 2026 OPPS/ASC final rule (CMS-1834-FC, November 21, 2025) phases out the IPO list over three years, starting with 285 mostly musculoskeletal procedures removed for CY 2026. That is not a waiver for every neurostimulator. Before you report a generator, paddle, or pump on a hospital 13X claim, confirm the HCPCS is not still status indicator C on current OPPS Addendum B/E. Before you report it on an ASC facility claim, confirm it is on the current ASC CPL (Addendum AA). CMS added 289 procedures to the ASC CPL for CY 2026 after revising CPL criteria, and added 271 codes removed from the IPO list—still a published list. Device-intensive implants (ASC payment indicator J8; OPPS device offset greater than 30% of mean cost since January 1, 2019, MCPM Chapter 4) change discontinued-procedure math: with modifier 73, CMS removes 100% of the device offset before the discontinued-procedure reduction.

Implantable pain pumps use the same trial-versus-implant split: a tunneled catheter or a refill analysis is not implantation of a programmable pump. Check IPO and ASC CPL independently. Repair of an intraoperative dural leak is integral to the spinal procedure (NCCI Chapter VIII §C.12). Intraoperative neurophysiology testing is not reported by the operating surgeon; a different monitoring physician may report it (§C.30).

Kyphoplasty, vertebroplasty, laminotomy, and laminectomy outpatient limits

Percutaneous vertebroplasty (22510–22512) and percutaneous vertebral augmentation including balloon kyphoplasty-type work (22513–22515) are families: one primary for the first thoracic or lumbar level, then the add-on for each additional thoracic or lumbar level, whether or not the extra levels are contiguous (NCCI Chapter VIII §C.22). Do not report two primaries for T12 and L1. Imaging guidance is in the family. These percutaneous augmentations are common HOPD and ASC cases when they are on the payable lists; they are still not office joint injections. Confirm current ASC CPL if the setting is a freestanding ASC.

Laminotomy (partial excision of posterior elements; hemilaminectomy families such as 63020/63030 with add-on 63035) removes less bone than laminectomy (63045/63047 with add-on 63048). NCCI Chapter VIII §C.18: a laminotomy code shall not be reported with a laminectomy code for the same vertebra. Partial excision codes 22100–22103 are not separately reportable with laminectomy or laminotomy at the same vertebra. CMS payment policy does not allow separate 63042 or 63047 with posterior lumbar interbody arthrodesis 22630 or 22633 at the same interspace (§C.26); different interspaces may take an NCCI-associated modifier when truly separate. Stereotactic navigation 61783 is not reported for simple decompression 63001–63053 (§C.34). Operating microscope 69990 is separately payable only for a short CMS list (Chapter VIII §F); most spine codes bundle it.

Outpatient limits. A one-level lumbar laminotomy for disc herniation is a classic outpatient hospital or ASC decompression when the patient is appropriate. Wider laminectomy, especially with fusion, instrumentation, or staged reconstruction, is the record you check against the current IPO list and against whether the stay was actually inpatient. CY 2026's 285 IPO removals were mostly musculoskeletal; do not assume a named lumbar decompression or paddle implant was in that batch without looking it up.

Facility scenario

HOPD pain lab: left L4–L5 and L5–S1 transforaminal epidural steroid injections under fluoroscopy. Facility coding: lumbar transforaminal primary plus one add-on, LT, no 77003, no interlaminar 62323 for the same levels. If the same note also documents thermal RF of those facet nerves, query: completed RF is the destruction family, not a second payable steroid injection of the same joints without a distinct-session story.

Second case: percutaneous kyphoplasty T12 and L1 in an ASC. Report one primary and the add-on, not two primaries. Confirm both codes are on the CY 2026 ASC CPL. If the surgeon booked laminectomy with paddle SCS implant and the HCPCS is still IPO status indicator C, do not substitute the trial code 63650 to force outpatient payment.

Sources

Test Your Knowledge

A hospital outpatient pain procedure documents a lumbar interlaminar epidural steroid injection with fluoroscopic guidance. Which facility imaging and CPT-family decision follows NCCI Chapter VIII?

A
B
C
D
Test Your Knowledge

A patient completed a percutaneous SCS electrode trial in the HOPD. The surgeon now wants a laminectomy-approach paddle electrode and a new implantable generator in an ASC. Which site-of-service coding rule is correct for CY 2026?

A
B
C
D
Test Your Knowledge

An ASC note documents percutaneous vertebral augmentation (kyphoplasty-type) at T12 and L1 under imaging guidance. How should additional levels be reported under NCCI Chapter VIII?

A
B
C
D