PracticeVideosBlogFlashcards
All Practice Exams

Free Practice Questions for OR LPC Jurisprudence

Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.

✓ No registration✓ No credit card
105+ Questions
100% Free

Loading practice questions...

Exam Review

Key Facts: OR LPC Jurisprudence Exam

Open-book

Law and Rules Exam

OBLPCT: untimed; complete in one sitting

1,900 / 36 months

Direct-Client Hours / Duration

Up to 400 hours/12 months pre-degree; at least 1,500 hours/24 months post-degree

ORS 675

Practice Act

Oregon Revised Statutes

OBLPCT

Board

OR Board of LPC & Therapists

Prepare for the Oregon Law and Rules Exam using current ORS 675.705–675.835, OAR Chapter 833, and the adopted ACA Code of Ethics. Our practice covers Board authority, counselor-client privilege (ORS 40.262), separately applicable psychotherapist-patient privilege (ORS 40.230), confidentiality (ORS 675.765), mandatory reporting, qualifying outpatient minor consent from age 14, Professional Counselor Associate supervision, and continuing education. These are study categories, not a published official weighted blueprint.

Sample OR LPC Jurisprudence Practice Questions

Try these sample questions to review concepts for the OR LPC Jurisprudence exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 105+ question experience with AI tutoring.

1An approved Oregon LPC applicant is preparing for the Board’s Law and Rules Exam. Which description matches the Board’s published instructions?
A.A timed national competency exam administered by NBCC.
B.An open-book, untimed online exam completed in one sitting.
C.An open-book exam that may be saved across several sittings.
D.A supervisor examination that substitutes for the LPC competency exam.
Explanation: The Board’s Exams page describes the Oregon Law and Rules Exam as open-book and untimed, with completion in one sitting. The link is in the application approval email. It is distinct from the approved national competency examinations and from the supervisor examination.
2An LPC is checking the Board’s rules for supervision, records, and continuing education. Which source contains those administrative requirements?
A.ORS Chapter 675, without consulting implementing rules.
B.OAR Chapter 833, read with applicable Oregon statutes.
C.The ACA Code alone, without the Board’s additional rules.
D.The examination vendor’s candidate handbook alone.
Explanation: OAR Chapter 833 contains OBLPCT administrative rules. ORS 675.705–675.835 supplies enabling law, and other statutes also apply. OAR 833-100-0011 adopts the 2014 ACA Code, but that code does not replace the rest of Chapter 833.
3A consumer alleges that an Oregon LPC misrepresented qualifications in a professional disclosure statement. Which body has the relevant licensing and disciplinary authority?
A.The National Board for Certified Counselors alone.
B.The Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists.
C.The Oregon Board of Psychology for all psychotherapy providers.
D.The American Counseling Association instead of the state board.
Explanation: OBLPCT regulates Oregon LPC and LMFT licensure. ORS 675.745 includes false, incomplete, or misleading professional disclosure statements among disciplinary grounds; ORS 675.785 authorizes investigation of alleged violations.
4A direct-method LPC applicant passed an approved competency examination eight years before applying. Under OAR 833-020-0081, what does that timing mean?
A.The applicant must retake because more than five years have passed.
B.The applicant is exempt from both competency and Oregon law examinations.
C.The competency examination need not be retaken solely because of its age.
D.The applicant must use reciprocity to receive any credit for that score.
Explanation: A passing competency examination within the ten years before application need not be retaken under OAR 833-020-0081(2). This does not waive the separate Oregon law and rules examination or other licensing requirements. The June 9, 2026 amendment preserves this ten-year provision.
5An applicant asks why the Board verifies education and investigates practice complaints. Which purpose best explains those functions?
A.To represent licensees in private reimbursement negotiations.
B.To protect the public through licensing and practice standards.
C.To certify that every accepted treatment will produce improvement.
D.To settle all private fee disputes as a civil court would.
Explanation: The Board’s public-protection role includes determining qualifications and investigating alleged practice violations. ORS 675.785 grants licensing, rulemaking, and investigative powers. Licensing is not a guarantee of a particular client outcome or a substitute for all civil remedies.
6An LPC applicant holds a graduate degree from a regionally accredited university, but the counseling program is not CACREP-accredited. How should the applicant evaluate eligibility?
A.Treat regional accreditation as proof that every degree requirement is satisfied.
B.Check the Board’s alternative-route education and training standards.
C.Treat the absence of CACREP accreditation as automatic ineligibility.
D.Replace missing graduate coursework with post-degree client contact hours.
Explanation: OAR 833-030-0011 provides more than a CACREP route. The regionally accredited institution route requires the specified graduate degree, coursework, and supervised clinical training. Regional accreditation alone does not establish that those substantive requirements are met; experience does not replace required education.
7An LPC applicant has the maximum allowable pre-degree credit: 400 supervised direct-client-contact hours and 12 months. Under the ordinary 1,900-hour, 36-month route, what minimum remains?
A.1,500 direct-contact hours and 24 months.
B.1,900 direct-contact hours and 24 months.
C.1,500 direct-contact hours and 36 months.
D.1,900 direct-contact hours and 36 months.
Explanation: Subtract the allowable pre-degree credit from each independent requirement: 1,900 − 400 = 1,500 direct-contact hours; 36 − 12 = 24 months. Completing the hours faster does not remove the duration requirement. This scenario concerns the ordinary supervised route, not a reciprocity substitution or presumption.
8Which examination is on Oregon’s approved LPC competency-examination list, rather than being an LMFT or other profession’s examination?
A.The AMFTRB marital and family therapy examination.
B.The Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination.
C.The ASWB clinical social work examination.
D.The Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology.
Explanation: OAR 833-030-0041(2) lists NCE, NCMHCE, and the Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination as approved LPC competency examinations. The Board publishes a separate LMFT list. Passing one approved competency examination does not eliminate the Oregon law and rules examination.
9A professional counselor associate has completed the required hours and passed the examinations, but the Board has not issued the LPC license. What governs practice during this interval?
A.The associate may begin independent LPC practice when the supervisor signs the final report.
B.The associate must continue under supervision until the license is issued.
C.The associate may use the LPC title once the competency score appears in the portal.
D.The associate may stop supervision when the license fee payment clears.
Explanation: OAR 833-050-0051(8), effective August 12, 2026, requires supervision until all licensing requirements are met and the license is issued. Finishing hours, examinations, or fee payment does not itself issue a license. OAR 833-075-0090 restricts use of LPC to current Board licensees.
10The Board proves a statutory ground for disciplining an LPC and chooses probation. Which condition may it impose under ORS 675.745(2)?
A.A restriction only if the LPC independently agrees to it.
B.A requirement limited to paying the ordinary renewal fee.
C.Scope limits, specified training, or practice supervision.
D.A requirement determined solely by the client who complained.
Explanation: ORS 675.745(2) permits probation with restrictions on scope, specified training, supervision, or other conditions the Board finds necessary to protect the public. These are regulatory conditions, not terms set by the complainant.

About the OR LPC Jurisprudence Exam

The Oregon LPC Laws and Rules Exam tests knowledge of ORS 675.715-675.835 and OAR 833 rules. Covers counseling law, scope of practice, mandatory reporting, confidentiality, and supervision requirements. Required for LPC licensure in Oregon. The topic groups below are editorial study areas; the cited public Board guidance does not publish percentage weights.

Exam sponsor: Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists (OBLPCT). The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.

Assessment

Question count not published by the exam provider

Time Limit

Untimed; complete in one sitting

Passing Score

Board-confirmed passing result required

Exam / Certification Fees

Included in application fee

Exam sponsor website

Reported exam pass rate: Not publicly reported. Exam sponsor website

Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.

Our practice resources: topics covered

We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.

Not published

Oregon Counseling Law

ORS 675.715-675.835, OBLPCT authority, licensure requirements, exemptions, and penalties

Not published

Confidentiality & Privilege

Counselor-client court-testimony privilege (ORS 40.262); separately applicable psychotherapist-patient privilege (ORS 40.230); disclosure confidentiality (ORS 675.765); HIPAA where applicable; minor consent and disclosure (ORS 109.675 and 109.680); and record access. Apply each rule's scope and exceptions.

Not published

Mandatory Reporting & Protective Disclosure

Child-abuse reporting (ORS 419B.010), elder-abuse reporting (ORS 124.060), reporting protections, and protective disclosure under applicable confidentiality, privilege and safety rules. ORS 40.252 does not itself create a reporting duty; assess other applicable legal and adopted ethical duties.

Not published

Ethics & Professional Conduct

Informed consent, dual relationships, cultural competence, termination, advertising standards

Not published

Supervision & Scope

LPCA supervision requirements, scope of practice, telehealth, assessment, CE requirements

Preparing for the OR LPC Jurisprudence Exam

What You Need to Know

  • Passing score: Board-confirmed passing result required
  • Assessment: Question count not published by the exam provider
  • Time limit: Untimed; complete in one sitting
  • Exam / certification fees: Included in application fee Official sources

Using Our Practice Resources

  • Work through all 105 available questions
  • Review every answer and explanation
  • Track weak areas and revisit them
  • Use our AI tutor for tough concepts

OR LPC Jurisprudence: Suggested Study Strategy

1Study ORS 675.715-675.835 for the Oregon Professional Counselors and Therapists Act
2Review OAR 833 for detailed OBLPCT administrative rules and procedures
3Know mandatory reporting obligations under ORS 419B.010 (child abuse) and ORS 124.060 (elder abuse)
4Compare the court-testimony privilege in ORS 40.262 with the psychotherapist-patient privilege in ORS 40.230, then review disclosure confidentiality under ORS 675.765. Distinguish each rule's exceptions from separate reporting and safety duties.
5Master minor consent rules under ORS 109.675 — age 14 threshold for outpatient treatment

Frequently Asked Questions

What is on the Oregon LPC jurisprudence exam?

The Board directs Law and Rules Exam candidates to the Oregon statutes and administrative rules on its Laws & Rules page. Our practice organizes current licensing law, OAR Chapter 833, adopted ethics, confidentiality and privilege, reporting, supervision, and continuing education. These are editorial study categories, not an official counseling-theory syllabus or published weighted outline.

How long is the Oregon LPC jurisprudence exam valid?

The ten-year provision in OAR 833-020-0081 concerns the separate competency examination, not the Oregon Law and Rules Exam. Take the Law and Rules Exam using the link in your application approval email and follow the Board’s instructions for your application. The public exam page does not specify a ten-year validity period for Law and Rules results.

What supervised hours does Oregon require for LPC licensure?

Oregon requires 1,900 supervised direct-client-contact hours over at least 36 months. Up to 400 hours and 12 months may be credited from qualifying pre-degree experience, leaving at least 1,500 hours and 24 months post-degree when the full pre-degree allowance is used. The former 1,000-hour minimum within a Board-approved associate registration plan was removed effective July 1, 2023. Follow the Board’s rules for supervision, documentation, and the applicable licensure pathway.

At what age can a minor consent to mental health treatment in Oregon?

At 14 or older, a minor may obtain qualifying outpatient mental-health diagnosis or treatment from an authorized provider without parental knowledge or consent under ORS 109.675. Parents must be involved before treatment ends unless they refuse or clear contrary clinical indications are documented. This requirement excludes minors sexually abused by a parent and minors emancipated under the statute, including those living apart from parents or a guardian and self-sustaining for 90 days before treatment. ORS 109.680 separately governs disclosure without the minor's consent. For serious and imminent risk of a suicide attempt when inpatient treatment is unnecessary or impracticable, it requires relevant disclosure and safety planning with a parent, guardian or another person reasonably believed able to reduce the risk. Disclosure to a particular person is not required where the statute's abuse, neglect, domestic-violence, endangerment or best-interest exceptions apply.