Where the UPCAT Cycle Stands Right Now
Last verified September 5, 2026 against the UP Office of Admissions General Information Bulletin on First-Year Admissions for AY 2027-2028, the UPCAT 2027 application and Form 2A portals, and UP System results announcements.
Two things are true today, and most UPCAT guides online get at least one of them wrong.
First, UPCAT 2027 has already been administered. It ran on August 1 and 2, 2026 in 118 testing centers nationwide for admission to Academic Year 2027-2028. Nobody is studying for that sitting any more.
Second, the UPCAT 2027 application is still not finished. UP has extended the deadline for Forms 1 and 2B, the Grade 12 Form 2A, and the hard copy of grades to 15 September 2026. Sitting the exam does not complete your file. If you have not clicked the "Submit Forms 1 and 2B" button in the applicant portal, your application may not be processed at all.
This guide covers both audiences: the August 2026 examinee who has days left to finish an application, and the Grade 11 student who will apply for the next cycle. It breaks down the four subtests, explains what the UPG actually is, separates what UP publishes from what prep folklore invents, and gives a four-week plan. For drilling, use free UPCAT practice questions, UPCAT flashcards, and the UPCAT cheat sheet.
If You Took UPCAT 2027: Finish Before 15 September 2026
This is the only live UPCAT deadline right now. The UP Office of Admissions extended the post-exam submission window twice: first to 7 September 2026, then again to 15 September 2026. Work through all four items.
| # | What | Who does it | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Update Form 1 and complete Form 2B with full Grades 8-11, then click "Submit Forms 1 and 2B" | Applicant, in the online portal | 15 September 2026 |
| 2 | Complete Form 2A and confirm you as a Grade 12 student or graduate | Your Grade 12 senior high school official | 15 September 2026 |
| 3 | Send a certified true copy of SF-10 or Form 137 with complete Grades 8-11, sealed and wet-signed across the flap | You, a representative, or your school | 15 September 2026 |
| 4 | Keep access to the same personal email and portal credentials | Applicant | Through results release |
Four rules that trip people up, all straight from the UP portal:
- Do not withdraw your application to fix an error. Withdrawing after you have taken the exam voids the application and blocks you from applying via UPCA or UPCAT again. Contact the online helpdesk instead.
- Submit a certified true copy, not the original. UP does not return documents dropped at the Office of Admissions.
- Order the pages Grade 8 first, Grade 11 last. If you transferred schools, the Grade 12 school certifies and signs.
- No hard copy, no processing. The bulletin says in capitals that the applications of those unable to submit a hard copy of the certified true copy of their grades will not be processed. That is the rule that ends most incomplete files, and it is separate from the online forms.
As of September 5, 2026, the applicant portal, the school-facing Form 2A portal, and the bulletin checklist all show the same 15 September 2026 date, so there is no conflicting deadline for your school to work to. Treat it as the last possible day, not the target.
UPCAT at a Glance
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Exam | UPCAT (University of the Philippines College Admission Test) |
| Administrator | UP Office of Admissions, UP System |
| Purpose | First-year admission across 8 constituent universities and 1 autonomous college on 17 campuses |
| Subtests | 4: Language Proficiency, Reading Comprehension, Science, Mathematics |
| Format | Pencil-and-paper multiple choice; UP requires pencils, a sharpener, and an eraser, and says the administration lasts about five hours |
| Sessions | Permit shows a 6:30 am or 12:30 pm session; arrive by 6:00 am or 12:00 pm |
| Scoring | Standardized subtest scores plus the composite of final Grades 8, 9, 10, and 11 form the UPG |
| Published weights | None. UP publishes no item count, no subtest weights, no guessing penalty |
| Retakes | The UPCAT may be taken only once |
| Fee | Free for Filipino citizens; PHP 450 resident foreign; USD 50 non-resident foreign |
| Appeals threshold | Minimum UPG of 2.800 to access the DIWA portal |
Sources: the UP Office of Admissions bulletin and the UPCAT 2027 application portal.
The UPCAT Cycle Calendar
UPCAT cycles are named for the admission year, not the test year. UPCAT 2027 was taken in August 2026 for students entering in 2027. That single fact resolves most of the confusion in comment sections.
| Cycle | Test dates | Applicants | Qualifiers | Rate | Results |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UPCAT 2025 (AY 2025-2026) | August 10-11, 2024 | 135,236 | 17,996 | 13.31% | April 22, 2025 |
| UPCAT 2026 (AY 2026-2027) | August 2-3, 2025 | 147,437 | 18,350 | 12.44% | April 22, 2026 |
| UPCAT 2027 (AY 2027-2028) | August 1-2, 2026 | About 153,000 examinees expected | Pending | Pending | First half of 2027 |
Testing capacity has grown each year: 114 centers in 2024, 117 in 2025, and 118 in 2026, with UP Diliman alone expecting roughly 53,000 examinees in August 2026. UP has not yet announced a results release date for UPCAT 2027 beyond "within the first half of the year 2027."
Note the direction of the rate. More applicants, not fewer qualifiers, is what pushed the qualification rate from 13.31% down to 12.44%. UP qualified 354 more applicants in 2026 than in 2025 while applications rose about nine percent. The 12.44% is UP's published figure; the raw division of 18,350 by 147,437 gives 12.45%, so the gap is rounding.
What UPCAT 2026 Told Us About Who Gets In
The UP System results announcement and the inclusive admissions report give the most recent complete picture:
- 18,350 of 147,437 applicants qualified, or 12.44%, including both degree-program qualifiers and waitlisted applicants.
- Public school students, science high schools included, made up 57.1% of qualifiers, against 42.5% from private schools. The public share was 55% the year before.
- UP's stated target intake ratio is 60:40 in favor of public schools, and the public share has risen every year since 2023, when private schools held 56%.
- 439 qualifiers came from indigenous communities, 2.4% of the total and a 15.83% increase over the prior year's 379.
- 21.45% came from households earning PHP 200,000 or less a year, essentially flat against 21.5% the year before.
- 2,323 qualifiers, or 12.7%, were first-generation college students.
- Qualifiers rose in underserved regions: the Cordillera Administrative Region (+24), BARMM (+13), and Cagayan Valley (+13). Marawi City, which gained a testing center for that cycle, went from 54 qualifiers to 66.
- Results were released April 22, 2026, and qualifiers had to reply to the offer by May 16, 2026.
The practical read: the equity factors UP applies are real and measurable, but they operate on top of a ranking. They do not replace it.
The Four UPCAT Subtests
The bulletin confirms four subtests and nothing more granular. It tags only Language Proficiency and Reading Comprehension as administered in English and Filipino. It says nothing about the language of the Science and Mathematics items, so prepare to read either.
| Subtest | Language UP specifies | What it asks for |
|---|---|---|
| Language Proficiency | English and Filipino | Grammar, usage, vocabulary, sentence correction and improvement |
| Reading Comprehension | English and Filipino | Main idea, inference, tone and purpose, vocabulary in context, structure |
| Science | Not specified | Concept application across biology, chemistry, physics, and earth science |
| Mathematics | Not specified | Applied problem solving without a calculator |
One caveat before the detail below. The right-hand column is not a UP blueprint, because UP publishes no topic list for any subtest. It is a review map compiled from what past examinees and long-running review materials consistently report. Use it to allocate study time, not to predict item counts.
Language Proficiency
Grammar, usage, and vocabulary in two languages. Expect sentence correction, error identification, sentence improvement, and vocabulary in context. Review subject-verb agreement, pronoun reference, parallel structure, tense consistency, and modifier placement in English, plus orthography, idioms, and figures of speech such as tayutay and sawikain in Filipino. Filipino is not a bonus section you can skip.
Reading Comprehension
Passages in both languages, drawn from a wide range: essays, news, fiction, poetry, speeches, and science or social science writing. Charts and graphs appear too. The recurring trap is outside knowledge. An option can be true in the world and still wrong for the passage if the text does not state or imply it. Train yourself to point at the line that proves the answer.
Science
Concept application rather than recall, spread across biology, chemistry, physics, and earth science. Some items require short computations. Because no calculator is allowed, practice arithmetic with clean numbers and estimation.
Mathematics
Applied problem solving grounded in the senior high school core curriculum: arithmetic and number sense, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, and statistics and probability. Word problems dominate. Drill factoring, linear and quadratic equations, functions, ratio and proportion, area and volume, basic trigonometric ratios, counting, and probability. No calculators, so rehearse long multiplication, division, and fraction work by hand until it is fast.
What UP Publishes, and What Is Just Folklore
This is where nearly every UPCAT guide oversteps. UP's current bulletin is deliberately sparse, and knowing the boundary protects you from studying the wrong things.
| Claim you will see online | Status |
|---|---|
| "The UPCAT has 250 items", or "about 320 items, Language Proficiency 80 in 50 minutes" | Not published by UP. Item counts and per-subtest timing circulate widely, the two most-quoted totals contradict each other, and neither appears in any UP bulletin. |
| "Scoring is right minus one-quarter wrong" | Not published by UP. The current bulletin states no guessing penalty and no scoring formula. |
| "The UPG is 60% UPCAT and 40% high school grades" | Not published by UP. The bulletin says only that the two are combined. |
| "Subtests are weighted differently at every campus except Diliman" | Not published by UP. No per-campus subtest weighting appears in the bulletin. |
| "UP Diliman engineering needs a UPG of 2.2 or better" | Not published by UP. Program cutoffs move by campus, by program, and by year, and UP does not release them in advance. The only cutoffs UP prints are the per-campus appeals cutoffs on the DIWA portal, after results. |
| "Filipino makes up 40 to 50 percent of the two verbal subtests" | Not published by UP. The bulletin says only that Language Proficiency and Reading Comprehension are in English and Filipino. |
| "Some years include an essay portion" | Not in the current bulletin, which lists four subtests and nothing else. |
| "Earth Science is the most heavily weighted science topic" | Not published by UP. No subtest carries a published topic weight. |
| "The test administration lasts about five hours" | Published by UP, in the bulletin and on the UPCAT site. |
| "Calculating devices are prohibited" | Published by UP, along with cellphones, smartwatches, and cameras. |
| "You need a UPG of 2.800 or better to appeal" | Published by UP, in the appeals section of the bulletin. |
The takeaway is not that these numbers are necessarily false. It is that you cannot plan around them. Build a strategy that works whatever the item count is: answer every question you can reason about, use elimination, and keep moving. Do not leave items blank because a blog told you about a penalty UP has never printed.
How the UPG Works
UP combines standardized UPCAT subtest scores with the composite of your final grades in Grades 8, 9, 10, and 11 to produce an admission score. The bulletin calls it the admission score, or UPG, which UP's own announcements spell out as the University Predicted Grade, and it is the number non-qualifiers see on their results page. UP also factors socioeconomic and geographic considerations into campus selection to widen access.
The UPG sits on UP's grading scale, where a lower number is better. That is visible in the rules themselves: the appeals threshold is a UPG of 2.800 or better, and UP's transfer route asks for a weighted average of 2.00 or better in the same marking system.
Selection then runs in two stages. You are ranked for a campus against that campus's quota and cutoff, and a successful applicant receives an offer from only one of their campus choices. Within the campus, applicants are ranked again against the quotas of their chosen degree programs, in the priority order they listed. Choose only programs you would actually enroll in.
What UP does not publish is the weighting. There is no official 60/40 split in the current bulletin, and no universal cutoff, because cutoffs move by campus and by program each year. The honest planning rule is the simple one: your Grades 8-11 transcript and your test performance both count, and you cannot trade one away for the other. Since the UPCAT may be taken only once, the first attempt is the only attempt.
Why You Still See UPCA in Old Guides
UPCA, the UP College Admission, was the grades-based route UP used while the UPCAT was suspended during the pandemic. UP's Return of the UPCAT announcement, posted in September 2022, describes the June 3-4, 2023 administration as the first UPCAT since 2020, held for AY 2024-2025 admission, and notes that the UPCA application for AY 2023-2024 was running at the time. The admission years UP filled without a UPCAT were therefore AY 2021-2022, AY 2022-2023, and AY 2023-2024.
The current bulletin does not name those cycles. It simply disqualifies anyone who had a UP college application processed during years without the UPCAT, which is the same rule stated generically. The UPCAT has been the active pathway ever since, so if a guide tells you UP admits on grades alone, it has not been updated since 2023.
Eligibility Checklist
You are eligible for a UPCAT cycle if all of the following hold. This is the bulletin's own list, restated as checks.
- You are a Grade 11 student in the year the applications open, expecting to graduate Grade 12 by the end of the following academic year, or you are already a senior high school graduate.
- You will have complete final grades for Grades 8, 9, 10, and 11 under the K-12 curriculum, or a foreign equivalent, by the grades submission deadline.
- You have not taken any college or post-secondary course, diploma or associate programs included, since graduating senior high school.
- You have not taken the UPCAT before.
- You have not had a UP college application processed during a year without a UPCAT. That is the bulletin's own phrasing, and it points at the UPCA cycles described below.
The bulletin sets no minimum high school average as an application requirement. It requires complete grades, not good ones. Your transcript still matters, because it feeds the UPG.
Two adjacent routes are worth knowing. If you have already earned at least 33 academic units elsewhere with a weighted average of 2.00 or better, you apply as a transfer through a campus registrar, not through the UPCAT. If you finished secondary school abroad and have not enrolled in college, you may apply by international qualification using the SAT, GCE, or IB, but only if you did not take the UPCAT. UP is explicit that applicants who sat the UPCAT and did not qualify cannot fall back on this route.
Fees, Free Tuition, and Financial Aid
Filipino citizens pay no UPCAT application fee. Non-Filipino citizens pay a non-refundable fee regardless of where they live: PHP 450 for resident foreign applicants studying in the Philippines, USD 50 for non-resident foreign applicants, plus a PHP 25 Landbank service charge per application. Proof of payment uploads to the portal before Form 1 can be submitted.
Tuition itself is free at UP for eligible students under the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act of 2017. The bulletin then groups additional support by the need it addresses:
- Tuition and fee subsidies: the Grants-in-Aid Program, which sets what you pay against household capacity and can waive miscellaneous fees, and the Tertiary Education Subsidy administered through UniFAST.
- Living allowances: the Lingap Iskolar Program for qualifiers from remote and disadvantaged areas whose families earn PHP 135,000 gross a year or less and who hold no other scholarship; Student and Graduate Assistantships, paying undergraduates PHP 60 per hour; and the UP Presidential Scholarship and Presidential Leadership Grant for general weighted averages of at least 1.75 and 2.75 respectively.
- Deferred payment: the UP Tuition Loan Program, settled within the semester.
One award sits outside that list. The Oblation Scholarship goes to the 50 highest UPCAT scorers, and UP campuses describe the package as free tuition, miscellaneous and laboratory fees, a book allowance of PHP 2,250 per semester, and a monthly incentive allowance of PHP 3,000, held for the normal length of the degree. There is no application. UP identifies the recipients from their UPCAT scores and UPG.
The Iskolar ng Bayan program is often misdescribed as income-based. It is not. Under the Iskolar ng Bayan Law of 2014, a Filipino public senior high school graduate in the top ten of their graduating class who has not yet been offered a degree program may apply through the DIWA portal to a UP unit in the same region as their high school, or to UP Open University, provided they meet the UPG cutoff. Slots are limited per campus, and the DIWA portal warns that filing an INB application removes you from the first batch of general appeals, so choose one route deliberately.
Results, Waitlists, DPWAS, and Appeals
There are five possible outcomes, and only the first is a plain yes.
- Qualified to a degree program.
- Waitlisted at a degree program: you met the requirements but slots ran out, and you may still be offered a place as others decline.
- Waitlisted at a DPWAS, a Degree Program With Available Slots: you qualified for the campus but not for any program you listed, and you choose from remaining programs in the DIWA portal.
- Not qualified to any course or campus choice, with your UPG shown.
- Pending case, meaning UP needs additional requirements from you.
If you receive no offer but your UPG is 2.800 or better, you gain access to the DIWA portal to appeal. Each batch lets you choose up to two programs in a single campus, and success depends on slots remaining. Each campus may add its own criteria, and some do not open to appeals at all. A DPWAS selection is not a guarantee either; you are still evaluated on your UPG.
UP publishes the appeals cutoffs only after results, on the DIWA portal, and the 2026 cycle shows what to expect. UP Diliman accepted no appeals. The campus cutoffs were 2.580 at UP Manila, 2.600 at UP Baguio and UP Pampanga, 2.700 at UP Visayas, and 2.800 at UP Cebu, UP Los Banos, UP Mindanao, UP Tacloban, and UP Open University. The first appeals batch opened on June 10-11, 2026, seven weeks after results, with a second round on June 19-20 as slots freed up.
If the UPCAT Does Not Work Out
Most guides stop at the appeals portal or pivot to a list of rival entrance exams. UP publishes its own list of routes for applicants who did not take or did not qualify in the UPCAT, and it is the list worth working through first.
- Talent determination tests for certificate and associate programs.
- The Varsity Athletics Admission System for recruited student-athletes.
- The UP Manila School of Health Sciences, which runs its own admission process at its Palo, Baler, Koronadal, and Tarlac campuses.
- The Undergraduate Admission Test (UgAT) of UP Open University.
- Transfer admission after a year of college elsewhere, which needs at least 33 academic units at a weighted average of 2.00 or better.
The transfer route is the one most applicants underrate. It has a published, checkable standard, while an appeal depends on slots you cannot see.
Programs With a Second Screening
Passing the UPCAT is not the last hurdle for a handful of programs. The department contacts you directly with schedules.
| Degree program | Campus | Second screening |
|---|---|---|
| B Fine Arts | UP Baguio | Talent Determination Test |
| B Fine Arts | UP Cebu | Talent Aptitude Test |
| B Fine Arts | UP Diliman | Talent Determination Test |
| B Music | UP Diliman | Music theory exam, solfege exam, audition and interview |
| D Dental Medicine | UP Manila | Dexterity exam |
Health-science students at UP Manila should also read the Return Service Agreement before committing. It requires at least two years of work in the Philippines within five years of graduation.
Test-Day Rules
The bulletin is specific, and the rules have not changed for the current cycle.
- Arrive early. Your permit shows a 6:30 am or 12:30 pm session, and you must be at the center by 6:00 am or 12:00 pm. The UPCAT site's older summary page says 6:30 am for arrival; trust your printed permit and the current bulletin, and plan to be early either way.
- Bring only: your printed test permit, a school ID or valid government-issued ID, at least two good quality pencils, a sharpener, a rubber eraser, water, and snacks.
- Leave behind: cellphones, smartwatches, calculating devices, and cameras. Use during the test is strictly prohibited.
- Go to your assigned center and session. The permit governs, not a friend's schedule or a social media post. Visit the venue beforehand if you can.
- Pace across about five hours. Examinees consistently report that each subtest is timed separately with no going back, so budget per section and take the snack break seriously.
- Answer strategically. Eliminate clearly wrong options before choosing. UP publishes no penalty for wrong answers, so a reasoned guess is better than a blank.
A Four-Week UPCAT Study Plan
If your test is further out, stretch this and add practice sets. If it is closer, keep the order and shorten the blocks.
| Week | Main job | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Baseline and logistics | Confirm permit, center, and session. Take a diagnostic across all four subtests. Tag every miss by subtest and question type. |
| 2 | Build routines | Drill grammar families in English and Filipino, passage strategy, science concept application, and math problem types. Start flashcards for high-yield facts. |
| 3 | Practice under time | Run timed mixed sets. Rebuild weak areas from the tags you collected, not from a generic topic list. |
| 4 | Simulate and sharpen | Run full timed blocks back to back to build five-hour endurance. Rehearse pencil-and-paper mechanics. Do a final cheat-sheet scan and pack your bag. |
A workable weekly rhythm is three sessions each on Language Proficiency, Reading, Science, and Math, plus one mixed timed set. Keep sessions short enough that you review every miss. Score gains come from understanding why a distractor was wrong, not from volume.
Use free UPCAT practice questions for mixed drills, route weak areas into UPCAT flashcards for retrieval practice, and use the UPCAT cheat sheet as a final-week scan of high-yield rules and traps.
Best Next Step
If you sat UPCAT 2027 in August 2026, stop reading and finish your submission. Forms 1 and 2B, your school's Form 2A, and the sealed hard copy of Grades 8-11 are all due 15 September 2026, and an incomplete file is not processed no matter how well you scored.
If you are preparing for a future cycle, verify dates yourself at the UP Office of Admissions UPCAT site rather than trusting any secondhand calendar, then start with free UPCAT practice questions and route your misses into flashcards and the cheat sheet. You get one attempt, so make the preparation deliberate rather than frantic.
