9.4 The Utah Controlled Substance Database (CSD)

Key Takeaways

  • Utah pharmacies must submit controlled substance dispensing data to the CSD daily, either in real time or by 24-hour daily or next-business-day batch, whichever is later (Utah Code § 58-37f-203; R156-37f-203).

  • A Utah pharmacy with a controlled substance license that dispensed nothing since its last submission must send a zero report, unless DOPL has approved a waiver or certification that is renewed each year.

  • A Utah prescriber must check the CSD before first prescribing a Schedule II or III opioid to a patient and review it periodically during repeated prescribing (Utah Code § 58-37f-304(2)).

  • Knowingly and intentionally releasing CSD information in violation of the access limits is a third degree felony in Utah (Utah Code § 58-37f-601).

  • A Utah pharmacy or PIC that fails to submit required CSD data after a written request, or shows a pattern of non-submission, faces a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per unreported prescription (Utah Code § 58-37f-602).

Last updated: September 2026

9.4 The Utah Controlled Substance Database (CSD)

Blueprint item 3.3 specifically includes "requirements for reporting to PMP and accessing PMP data." Utah's PMP is the Controlled Substance Database (CSD), created by Title 58, Chapter 37f and administered by DOPL under R156-37f.

What must be reported

  • The PIC and the pharmacist of the outlet where a controlled substance is dispensed must submit the data (§ 58-37f-203(2)). A dispensing medical practitioner takes on the pharmacist's duty.
  • The data covers each controlled substance dispensed and any noncontrolled substance DOPL designates by rule (§ 58-37f-203(3)). Gabapentin was collected as a designated noncontrolled drug starting in 2019 and has been a Utah Schedule V drug since 2024. The rule also calls out butalbital (R156-37f-203(7)–(8)).
  • Exception: drugs dispensed for administration to, or use by, a patient at a health care facility, including an outpatient setting at the facility, are not reported (§ 58-37f-203(3)(b)).
  • Hospital and ED dispensing of controlled substances to patients leaving the facility is reported through the appropriate pharmacy (R156-17b-610.5(4); R156-17b-610.6(3)).

When and how

RequirementRule
FrequencyDaily, either real-time or 24-hour daily or next-business-day batch, whichever is later (§ 58-37f-203(1); R156-37f-203(1))
Date basisThe point-of-sale date, meaning the date the drug left the pharmacy (R156-37f-102(12))
OrderChronological by date sold. Groups sort by individual pharmacy.
FormatASAP Version 4.2, by secure internet transfer (for example, sFTP), a secure web service, or another approved electronic method
CorrectionsWithin seven business days after DOPL notifies the pharmacist that data is incomplete or wrong (§ 58-37f-203(1)(c))
Zero reportRequired if no reportable controlled substance was dispensed since the last submission (R156-37f-203(5))
WaiverA Class A, B, D, or E pharmacy with a CS license that isn't dispensing controlled substances may use a DOPL-approved waiver or certification instead of daily zero reports, renewed each calendar year. It ends automatically on the first CS dispensing, and DOPL must be notified within 24 hours or the next business day.

Required data includes the pharmacy's NPI and NCPDP or DEA number; the patient's name, address, ZIP code, and date of birth; the prescription number, date written, refills authorized, fill date, and refill number; the NDC, quantity, and days' supply; the date sold; the prescriber's DEA number; the identification of the person picking up the prescription (ID type, number, issuing state, and name); and the dispensing pharmacist (R156-37f-203(4)).

Who may access the CSD (§ 58-37f-301)

Access is limited to categories listed in statute, including:

  • pharmacists with authority to dispense controlled substances, and interns and technicians under a pharmacist's general supervision, for dispensing or considering dispensing, detecting fraud, reporting, or verifying submitted data;
  • prescribers, for current or prospective patients, suspected fraud, and review of their own prescribing, plus designated employees DOPL approves after a background check;
  • law enforcement and prosecutors with a valid search warrant in a controlled-substance investigation of a specific person (DOPL may also give limited non-identifying information in joint investigations);
  • DOPL investigators and analysts, board members monitoring a licensee on probation, UPHP staff, DHHS for authorized studies and suspected improper acquisition, the medical examiner, Medicaid integrity and fraud units, probation and parole officers supervising a specific person, and others the statute lists; and
  • the patient, who may see their own records and a list of who has requested them, unless under investigation. Patients may request corrections, which DOPL decides within 30 days.

Query duties

  • Prescribers must register with the CSD, completing an online tutorial and test that must be answered 100% correctly (§§ 58-37f-401, -402). They must check the database before the first time they prescribe a Schedule II or III opioid to a patient, and periodically when prescribing repeatedly (§ 58-37f-304(2)). Prescribers of high-risk prescriptions must also check for other active high-risk prescriptions (§ 58-37-305).
  • Dispensers: Utah does not require a query before every fill. If a dispenser's CSD review suggests a person may be obtaining opioids in quantities or frequencies inconsistent with accepted standards, the dispenser shall reasonably attempt to contact the prescriber (§ 58-37f-304(4)).
  • Section 58-37f-304 does not establish a minimum standard of care (§ 58-37f-701(2)).

Immunity and penalties

  • A person who submits information to, or accesses and reviews, the database under the chapter may not be held civilly liable for doing so, or for not acting on it (§ 58-37f-701).
  • Misuse: knowingly releasing database information in violation of Part 3 is a third degree felony. Negligent or reckless release is a class C misdemeanor. Obtaining information by misrepresentation, or for an unauthorized purpose, is a third degree felony. Each knowing unauthorized use or release is also subject to a civil penalty of up to $5,000 (§ 58-37f-601).
  • Failure to submit: after a specific written request, or when there is a pattern of non-submission, DOPL may discipline the PIC or pharmacy and impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per dispensed prescription not reported (§ 58-37f-602). Failing to submit after written notice is also unprofessional conduct (R156-37-502(8)), and the PIC must ensure timely submission (R156-17b-603(3)(p)).
Test Your Knowledge

How often must a Utah pharmacy submit controlled substance dispensing data to the CSD?

A

Only when DOPL requests the data

B

Monthly, by the 15th of the following month

C

Daily, either in real time or by 24-hour daily or next-business-day batch, whichever is later

D

Weekly, by the close of business each Friday

Test Your Knowledge

A Class B pharmacy holds a Utah controlled substance license but dispensed no reportable controlled substances since its last CSD submission. What must it do?

A

Submit a zero report, unless DOPL has approved a waiver or certification in lieu of daily zero reports that is renewed each calendar year

B

Surrender its controlled substance license

C

Submit a monthly letter to DEA

D

Nothing, because only positive dispensing is reported

Test Your Knowledge

Which person may lawfully access Utah CSD information about a specific patient?

A

A police officer without a warrant who is curious about a neighbor

B

An insurance agent evaluating a life insurance application

C

A pharmacy's store manager checking a job applicant's history

D

A pharmacy technician working under a pharmacist's general supervision, while the pharmacy is considering dispensing a controlled substance to that patient

Test Your Knowledge

A pharmacy repeatedly failed to report controlled substance prescriptions to the CSD, even after DOPL's written request. What civil penalty is available under Utah Code § 58-37f-602?

A

No civil penalty, only a letter of concern

B

Up to $1,000 for each dispensed prescription not reported as required

C

A flat $100 for the entire period

D

Up to $10,000 per day, with no connection to the number of prescriptions

Sections you finish are checked off in the contents.