1.1 NRFSP Food Safety Manager Exam Facts
Key Takeaways
Passing requires a scaled score of 75 - not a raw percentage and not '60 of 80 correct'; the exact number of correct answers needed shifts slightly by exam form
The January 1, 2026 FSMCE handbook specifies 85 multiple-choice questions and 2 hours; the blueprint allocates 80 domain items.
NRFSP imposes no education or experience prerequisite; valid photo ID and the test-use agreement are required, and local jurisdictions may require approved training.
Retakes require 24 hours between first and second attempts, at most two attempts in 30 days, 60 days after a second failure, and at most four attempts in 12 months.
Confirm the exact certification program, delivery channel and acceptance requirements with your local regulatory authority before registering.
1.1 NRFSP Food Safety Manager Exam Facts
Quick Answer: The NRFSP Food Safety Manager Certification Examination has 85 multiple-choice questions according to the January 1, 2026 examinee handbook with a 2-hour time limit. You need a scaled score of 75 to pass - not a raw percentage, and not "60 out of 80 correct." There are no prerequisites to sit for the exam, though many states and employers require food safety training first. Certification is valid for up to 5 years.
What Is NRFSP, and What Does This Credential Prove?
NRFSP stands for the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals. Its flagship credential - variously called the Food Safety Manager Certification or the Certified Food Safety Manager (CFSM) - is an ANAB-accredited (ANSI National Accreditation Board) and ANSI-CFP-recognized (recognized under the Conference for Food Protection's standard for food protection manager certification programs) food protection manager credential.
Passing it demonstrates that you can identify and control the risk factors the FDA Food Code holds most responsible for foodborne illness: poor personal hygiene, inadequate cooking, improper holding temperatures, contaminated equipment and surfaces, and food from unsafe sources. Most U.S. jurisdictions that require a "certified food protection manager" on staff will accept the NRFSP credential, because it meets the same accreditation bar (ANAB / ANSI-CFP) that jurisdictions use to decide which certifications to recognize.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Total questions | 85 multiple-choice questions in the January 1, 2026 handbook |
| Blueprint items | 80 items allocated across nine domains; the current handbook does not specify an exact pilot-item count |
| Time limit | 2 hours (120 minutes) |
| Passing score | Scaled score of 75 |
| Eligibility | Anyone may take it regardless of background; valid photo ID and the test-use agreement are required. Check local training rules. |
| Cost | The current handbook publishes no single program-wide fee; confirm fees with your administering provider before registering. |
| Certification validity | Up to 5 years (verify with your local jurisdiction/employer) |
| Delivery channels | Approved paper/pencil or in-person online proctors, Pearson VUE testing centers, or Proctor U remote proctoring; confirm the selected credential. |
The Scaled-Score Trap
Keep the scaled passing score separate from a raw percentage. NRFSP does not report a raw percentage. To pass, you need a scaled score of 75 or higher - a score NRFSP calculates using a statistical formula that adjusts for the difficulty of the specific form you sat. Because different exam forms draw from item pools of slightly different difficulty, the number of questions you need to answer correctly to reach a scaled 75 can shift a little from form to form.
Do not substitute a fixed raw correct-answer count for NRFSP's scaled passing standard. There is no published "you need exactly X raw questions correct" rule for NRFSP, because the whole point of scaling is to make the pass/fail line fair across different forms. Treat 75 as the number that matters, not any raw-count shortcut you may have seen in a forum or study group.
Current Source Context
The January 1, 2026 FSMCE handbook specifies 85 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours; the published blueprint allocates 80 domain items. The manager overview still says 80 questions. Use the current handbook for the total and confirm your booked exam instructions; do not infer an exact unscored-item count from the difference. FDA released the 2026 Food Code as its latest complete model edition. The NRFSP handbook says current FDA Food Code content is an exam reference. Local jurisdictions adopt different editions and amendments, so national certification and the law governing a workplace must be checked separately.
A candidate answers 55 questions correctly on the NRFSP Food Safety Manager exam. What does this tell you about whether they passed?
They passed, because 55 correct answers always meet the passing standard
They failed, because they needed exactly 60 correct answers
Not enough information - NRFSP reports a scaled score of 75, not a raw percentage, so the raw number of correct answers needed to pass varies slightly by form
They passed automatically, because completing the exam guarantees certification
No Prerequisites to Sit - But Check Local Rules
Anyone may register for the exam regardless of education, work history, or prior training - NRFSP does not require a class, an employer sponsor, or a minimum number of hours worked in food service before you can sit. That said, two practical caveats matter:
- Many jurisdictions require training before certification counts. Some states or local health departments mandate an approved food-safety course before the credential satisfies their regulation, even though NRFSP itself imposes no such requirement. Confirm with your local health department before assuming a self-study pass is sufficient where you live or work.
- Most food establishments must have at least one certified food safety manager on staff. This is typically a facility-level regulatory requirement imposed by the state or local health code, not an NRFSP eligibility rule - but it's the reason most candidates are taking this exam in the first place.
Cost, Validity, and How You Can Take It
The current FSMCE handbook does not publish one fee for all candidates. Before registering, confirm examination and proctoring charges with your Test Administrator/Proctor or administering organization. Optional training may have separate charges.
Once you pass, certification is valid for up to 5 years, though some states, cities, or employers set a shorter renewal cycle - always confirm your local requirement rather than assuming the full 5 years applies to you.
The current FSMCE handbook lists these delivery channels:
- Pearson VUE testing centers - traditional computer-based testing at a proctored test center.
- Live remote proctoring - at home through Proctor U, using the NRFSP online examination portal.
- In-person proctored online testing - through Diversys Learning with an NRFSP-approved proctor.
- Paper-and-pencil - through an NRFSP-approved Test Administrator, common for group and classroom testing.
If You Don't Pass: Retake Policy
Wait a full 24 hours between the first and second attempts, with no more than two attempts in a 30-day period. After a second failure, wait at least 60 days before a third attempt. No more than four attempts are permitted in 12 months. The published policy does not state a separate minimum interval after a third failure; confirm the permitted fourth-attempt date with NRFSP. Use the Diagnostic Score Report to plan restudy and confirm any fees with your provider.
Choosing a Certification Program
Confirm that the exact credential and delivery method meet your local regulatory authority's requirements. Compare each provider's current handbook and booking terms for its own examination format, scoring, fees and scheduling; do not assume that one provider's rules apply to another.
How much time do candidates have to complete the NRFSP Food Safety Manager Certification Examination?
1 hour
90 minutes
2 hours
3 hours
A candidate fails the NRFSP Food Safety Manager exam on their first attempt. What is NRFSP's mandatory waiting period before they may retake it?
No waiting period - they may retake immediately
At least 24 hours
7 days
30 days
Sections you finish are checked off in the contents.