1.1 Exam Structure, Format & Logistics
Key Takeaways
- The current exam presents 200 multiple-choice questions in 3 hours: 180 scored items and 20 unidentified pretest items.
- PTC administers the program and Prometric delivers approved appointments at test centers or through live remote proctoring.
- CCPDT publishes four domain weights—25%, 32%, 26%, and 17%—but the current handbook does not publish a numerical passing cut score.
- Score reports are issued approximately four to six weeks after the testing period closes.
- The 54-second figure is an arithmetic pacing average across all 200 presented items, not an official per-question limit.
1.1 Exam Structure, Format & Logistics
Quick Answer: The current CPDT-KA exam contains 200 multiple-choice questions delivered in 3 hours. Of those items, 180 are scored and 20 are unscored pretest items; candidates are not told which items are pretest. The exam is administered for CCPDT by the Professional Testing Corporation (PTC) and delivered through Prometric at test centers or by live remote proctoring. CCPDT's current handbook does not publish a numerical passing percentage or required number correct.
Use the Current Handbook as the Controlling Source
Exam logistics can change between testing cycles. The Candidate Handbook posted by CCPDT controls over an old course, forum post, or third-party study guide. Before applying and again before test day, confirm the current handbook, application deadline, testing period, fee schedule, identification rules, and Prometric appointment instructions. The 2026 handbook lists a $425 examination fee, a $100 late application fee, and a $230 transfer fee. Those amounts are current facts, not permanent promises.
PTC administers the program and communicates application status. After approval, the candidate schedules with Prometric. An approved application is not itself an appointment: the candidate must complete Prometric scheduling and retain the confirmation. The current program offers in-person test-center delivery and live remote proctoring. The appointment confirmation and Prometric instructions govern check-in time, room and equipment requirements, and permitted items.
Question Count, Scoring, and Results
All 200 questions are multiple choice. The 20 pretest questions are embedded throughout the exam and look like scored items. They collect performance data for possible use on future exam forms and do not affect the result. Because candidates cannot identify them, every question should be treated as scored.
The four official content-domain weights are:
| Domain | Official weight |
|---|---|
| I. Applied Learning Theory | 25% |
| II. Instructional and Teaching Skills | 32% |
| III. Canine Behavior, Ethology, and Well-being | 26% |
| IV. Professional Skills, Ethics, and Laws & Regulations | 17% |
The percentages describe the examination blueprint. They should not be converted into promises that a particular form will contain an exact count of scored questions from each domain. The content outline also identifies tasks and 76 Knowledge Areas, which are the better checklist for studying.
CCPDT reports results after the testing window rather than displaying an instant score at the end of the appointment. The current handbook says score reports are sent approximately four to six weeks after the testing period closes. The handbook does not disclose a passing percentage, a raw cut score, an Angoff calculation, or a target number correct. Claims such as “77%” or “138 correct” should therefore not be used as official facts.
Candidates who do not pass may submit a new application and pay the full fee to test again. The current handbook does not impose a lifetime attempt limit. Always confirm the current retest policy before a later administration.
Time Management
Three hours equals 180 minutes. Dividing 180 minutes by 200 items yields an average of 54 seconds per presented item. That is a planning average, not a rule that every question deserves equal time. A short definition question may take 15 seconds, while a scenario requiring functional analysis may take longer.
A defensible pacing plan is:
- Complete a first pass in about 150 to 160 minutes.
- Answer clear items immediately and flag genuinely uncertain items.
- Do not spend several minutes defending one answer while leaving unseen questions.
- Use the remaining time to revisit flags and confirm that every item has a response.
The current handbook does not state a special scoring benefit for leaving an item blank. Candidates should follow the directions presented by Prometric and make a reasoned selection when required.
Identification, Check-In, and Breaks
The 2026 handbook requires one current government-issued identification document from the accepted list, such as a driver's license, passport, or U.S. military identification. The first and last name must match the eligibility notice and appointment record. Temporary identification is not accepted. Candidates should use the exact current handbook and appointment confirmation rather than relying on generic “two-ID” testing-center advice.
The exam has no scheduled breaks. At an in-person site, an unscheduled break may be permitted under the site's process, but the clock continues. For live remote proctoring, the handbook states that breaks are not permitted. Candidates needing disability-related testing accommodations must request them through the published application process and by the applicable deadline; a trainer or test-center employee should not improvise accommodations on test day.
Test-Day Readiness
For a test center, plan the route, arrival time, acceptable identification, and locker restrictions in advance. For remote proctoring, run Prometric's system check on the same computer and network that will be used, prepare the required private room, and remove prohibited materials. Corporate firewalls, unstable Wi-Fi, multiple monitors, and operating-system permissions can disrupt check-in.
The safest final checklist is simple: read the current CCPDT handbook, retain the eligibility and Prometric confirmations, match the registration name to valid identification, know the no-break rule, and arrive or sign in early enough to complete security procedures without using exam time.
Which statement accurately describes the current CPDT-KA examination?
After CCPDT approves a candidate, which organization is used to schedule and deliver the examination appointment?
A prep course claims candidates must answer exactly 138 of 180 scored items correctly. How should that claim be treated?