Free Practice Questions for Iraqi Board ENT
Exam-style questions and explanations by OpenExamPrep.
Loading practice questions...
Explore More Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (البورد العراقي — IBMS)
Continue into nearby exams from the same family. Each card keeps practice questions, study guides, flashcards, videos, and articles in one place.
Key Facts: Iraqi Board ENT Exam
IBMS / MOHESR
Governing Body & Ministry
Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations
5 Years
Surgical Residency Duration
IBMS ENT Curriculum 2025
Not published
Published Pass Mark
Scientific Council of Otolaryngology curriculum
100 MCQs
Practice Bank Study Items
OpenExamPrep
The Iraqi Board of Otolaryngology (IBMS/MOHESR) qualification requires a 5-year surgical residency assessed by the Primary Written Examination (end of Year 1; basic surgical sciences and ENT anatomy/physiology, maximum four attempts), Mid Examination (Year 3), thesis defense, and the Final Examination (end of Year 5; Section 1 written SBA MCQs, followed by Section 2 clinical OSCE and oral viva). Minimum pass standards require 60% per paper and a 70% composite average. This independent 100-question MCQ practice bank supports preparation for the theoretical written papers of Part 1 and Part 2; it is not an OSCE or surgical simulation and does not replace accredited residency training.
Sample Iraqi Board ENT Practice Questions
Try these sample questions to review concepts for the Iraqi Board ENT exam. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 100+ question experience with AI tutoring.
1A patient undergoes a selective neck dissection for laryngeal squamous cell carcinoma, and the operative note must record the cleared compartments using the Robbins cervical lymph node level classification. Which transverse anatomical plane forms the boundary between level III and level IV?
2During endoscopic sinus surgery, a surgeon identifies the sphenopalatine foramen on the lateral nasal wall. Which bony structure forms the superior boundary of this foramen?
3During middle ear exploration, the chorda tympani nerve is mobilized. Regarding its embryology and middle ear relations, which statement is correct?
4A 34-year-old female presents with progressive hearing loss. Pure-tone audiometry shows bilateral conductive hearing loss with an apparent decrease in bone conduction thresholds centered at 2,000 Hz. What is the classic eponym for this audiometric notch?
5A 5-year-old boy undergoes tympanometry. The tympanogram displays a flat tracing (Type B) with an equivalent ear canal volume of 4.2 mL (normal reference: 0.6 to 1.5 mL). How should this tracing be interpreted?
6In an Auditory Brainstem Response (ABR) recording, an abnormal prolongation of the Wave I-III interpeak latency with a normal Wave III-V interpeak latency points to a lesion at which anatomical site?
7Which middle ear muscle is innervated by a motor branch of the mandibular division of the trigeminal nerve (V3)?
8A patient develops deep neck space sepsis that rapidly tracks into the posterior mediastinum down to the level of the diaphragm. Which anatomical space provides this direct pathway?
9During a lateral skull base approach to the infratemporal fossa, which cranial nerve branches emerge through the foramen ovale within the roof of this space?
10A 42-year-old man has a Weber tuning fork test (512 Hz) that lateralizes to the left ear. His Rinne test is negative in the left ear (bone conduction > air conduction) and positive in the right ear (air conduction > bone conduction). What is the diagnosis?
About the Iraqi Board ENT Exam
The Fellowship of the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations in Otolaryngology (F.I.B.M.S.) is the definitive postgraduate qualification for ear, nose, throat, and head and neck surgeons in Iraq, awarded by the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (IBMS) under the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MOHESR). The 5-year surgical residency curriculum is organized into Phase 1 (1 year of core surgical training across general surgery, neurosurgery, plastic surgery, and maxillofacial surgery) and Phase 2 (4 years of dedicated otolaryngology training covering otology/neurotology, rhinology, laryngology, head and neck oncologic surgery, pediatric otolaryngology, and facial plastic surgery). Assessment includes the Primary Written Examination at the end of Year 1, the Mid Examination at Year 3, formal research thesis defense, and the Final Board Examination (Section 1 written SBA MCQs and Section 2 clinical OSCE and oral viva). Important disclosure: The full FIBMS qualification requires five years of accredited hospital residency, verified surgical logbooks, thesis approval, and practical clinical OSCE/oral examinations, which cannot be replaced by written multiple-choice practice. This 100-question practice bank is an independent English-language educational study resource designed to reinforce theoretical knowledge, surgical anatomy, and clinical problem-solving for the Part 1 (Primary) and Part 2 (Final Written) exams. It is not an official IBMS examination, does not provide clinical OSCE or surgical skills simulation, and is not a substitute for accredited residency training.
Exam sponsor: Scientific Council of Otolaryngology, Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (المجلس العراقي للاختصاصات الطبية — المجلس العلمي لاختصاص جراحة الأنف والأذن والحنجرة). The requirements and fees below concern the certification or admission exam, separate from our free practice resources.
Assessment
The Iraqi Board in Otolaryngology follows a five-year structured postgraduate surgical training program governed by the Scientific Council of Otolaryngology under the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (IBMS) and the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MOHESR). The assessment pathway comprises distinct examination milestones: 1) The Primary Examination, sat at the completion of Phase 1 (Year 1 core surgical rotations including 6 months of general surgery, 2 months of neurosurgery, 2 months of plastic surgery, and 2 months of maxillofacial surgery), testing applied surgical basic sciences, head and neck anatomy, physiology, pathology, and pharmacology (minimal pass level of 60% per paper, 70% composite average; maximum 4 attempts allowed). 2) The Mid Examination, taken in the third year to verify specialty clinical and surgical progression. 3) The scientific research thesis, which must be completed and approved by the examination committee. 4) The Final Specialty Board Examination, taken upon completion of the 5-year curriculum. The Final Examination consists of Section 1 (a written paper-based Single Best Answer MCQ examination testing the application of clinical knowledge, diagnostic interpretation, and surgical decision-making; minimal pass mark of 60% per paper and 70% composite average) and Section 2 (the clinical component comprising structured clinical OSCE stations, scenario-based interviews, patient-based long/short cases, and oral viva voce examinations calibrated and marked independently by examiner pairs). Passing Section 1 is a mandatory prerequisite to sit Section 2.
Time Limit
Not published by the Scientific Council of Otolaryngology.
Passing Score
Not published. The Scientific Council of Otolaryngology publishes the examination structure and attempt limits but does not state a pass mark for the written papers.
Exam / Certification Fees
Prescribed by Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations / MOHESR regulatory bylaws
Exam sponsor websiteReported exam pass rate: Not published. The Scientific Council of Otolaryngology publishes the examination architecture and its attempt limits - a maximum of four attempts at each section with no re-entry, and a pass in Section 1 required before sitting Section 2 - but it does not publish a pass mark for the written papers or their duration. Exam sponsor website
Fees, eligibility, and exam policies can change. Confirm them with the exam sponsor before applying or paying.
Our practice resources: topics covered
We aim to reflect publicly available exam outlines and topic information in our study resources. Coverage, format, and difficulty may differ from the actual exam, and we cannot guarantee that every detail is accurate or current. Confirm exam requirements, fees, and policies with the official exam sponsor.
Head & Neck Anatomy, Embryology, Physiology & Audiology
Surgical anatomy of the temporal bone, facial nerve path and branches, cranial base osteology, infratemporal and pterygopalatine fossae, deep neck fascial spaces, auditory and vestibular neurophysiology, and audiological diagnostics (PTA, tympanometry, ABR, OAE).
Otology & Neurotology
Pathology and surgical management of acute and chronic otitis media, cholesteatoma, tympanoplasty, cortical and canal wall down mastoidectomy, ossicular chain reconstruction, otosclerosis and stapedotomy, peripheral vertigo (BPPV, Ménière disease, vestibular neuritis), acoustic neuroma (vestibular schwannoma), and cochlear implantation.
Rhinology, Skull Base & Facial Plastic Surgery
Nasal and paranasal sinus physiology, acute and chronic rhinosinusitis with and without nasal polyps, functional endoscopic sinus surgery (FESS) landmarks and complications, epistaxis management, inverted papilloma, sinonasal malignancies, CSF leak repair, and septorhinoplasty techniques.
Laryngology, Bronchoesophagology & Airway Management
Benign and malignant lesions of the vocal folds, vocal fold paralysis and phonosurgery, acute and chronic stridor, emergency airway management (tracheostomy, cricothyroidotomy), laryngeal trauma, pharyngeal pouches (Zenker diverticulum), swallowing disorders, and laryngopharyngeal reflux (LPR).
Head & Neck Oncology & Pediatric Otolaryngology
Squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, hypopharynx, and oral cavity; neck dissection classifications; benign and malignant salivary gland neoplasms; thyroid and parathyroid surgery; pediatric airway emergencies (laryngomalacia, subglottic stenosis); choanal atresia; and juvenile nasopharyngeal angiofibroma.
Preparing for the Iraqi Board ENT Exam
What You Need to Know
- Passing score: Not published. The Scientific Council of Otolaryngology publishes the examination structure and attempt limits but does not state a pass mark for the written papers.
- Assessment: The Iraqi Board in Otolaryngology follows a five-year structured postgraduate surgical training program governed by the Scientific Council of Otolaryngology under the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (IBMS) and the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MOHESR). The assessment pathway comprises distinct examination milestones: 1) The Primary Examination, sat at the completion of Phase 1 (Year 1 core surgical rotations including 6 months of general surgery, 2 months of neurosurgery, 2 months of plastic surgery, and 2 months of maxillofacial surgery), testing applied surgical basic sciences, head and neck anatomy, physiology, pathology, and pharmacology (minimal pass level of 60% per paper, 70% composite average; maximum 4 attempts allowed). 2) The Mid Examination, taken in the third year to verify specialty clinical and surgical progression. 3) The scientific research thesis, which must be completed and approved by the examination committee. 4) The Final Specialty Board Examination, taken upon completion of the 5-year curriculum. The Final Examination consists of Section 1 (a written paper-based Single Best Answer MCQ examination testing the application of clinical knowledge, diagnostic interpretation, and surgical decision-making; minimal pass mark of 60% per paper and 70% composite average) and Section 2 (the clinical component comprising structured clinical OSCE stations, scenario-based interviews, patient-based long/short cases, and oral viva voce examinations calibrated and marked independently by examiner pairs). Passing Section 1 is a mandatory prerequisite to sit Section 2.
- Time limit: Not published by the Scientific Council of Otolaryngology.
- Exam / certification fees: Prescribed by Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations / MOHESR regulatory bylaws Official sources
Using Our Practice Resources
- Work through all 100 available questions
- Review every answer and explanation
- Track weak areas and revisit them
- Use our AI tutor for tough concepts
Iraqi Board ENT: Suggested Study Strategy
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the governing authority and credential awarded by the Iraqi Board in Otolaryngology?
The qualification is administered by the Scientific Council of Otolaryngology (المجلس العلمي لاختصاص جراحة الأنف والأذن والحنجرة) under the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations (IBMS / المجلس العراقي للاختصاصات الطبية), operating under the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MOHESR). Successful candidates are awarded the Fellowship of the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations in Otolaryngology (F.I.B.M.S.).
What is the examination structure and training duration for the Iraqi Board in ENT?
The program is a 5-year surgical residency divided into Phase 1 (Year 1 core surgical rotations: 6 months general surgery, 2 months neurosurgery, 2 months plastic surgery, 2 months maxillofacial surgery) and Phase 2 (Years 2 to 5 dedicated ENT specialty training). Assessment includes the Primary Written Examination at the end of Year 1, the Mid Examination at Year 3, formal submission and defense of a research thesis, and the Final Examination at the end of Year 5 consisting of Section 1 (written Single Best Answer MCQ paper) and Section 2 (clinical OSCE stations, long and short cases, and oral viva voce).
What are the passing scores and attempt limits for the written examinations?
The Scientific Council of Otolaryngology does not publish a pass mark for the written papers. It does publish the attempt rules: candidates are allowed a maximum of four attempts at each examination section with no re-entry, and a pass in Section 1 (the single best answer written paper, taken on one day) is required before admission to Section 2 (clinical OSCE and oral viva). Candidates should confirm the current pass mark with the Scientific Council.
In what language are the Iraqi Board otolaryngology examinations conducted?
The Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations publishes this council's curriculum, syllabus and reference list in English, and English-language proficiency appears among the admission requirements set by the Ministry. The council's published curriculum does not, however, contain any statement of the language in which the examination papers themselves are set, so no language of assessment is asserted here. This site is an independent English-language study resource and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to the Iraqi Board for Medical Specializations; candidates should confirm the language of their sitting directly with their Scientific Council.
Does this 100-question practice bank simulate the clinical OSCE or surgical procedures?
No. The Iraqi Board qualification is an intensive 5-year clinical and surgical residency requiring hundreds of documented index procedures, cadaveric temporal bone and endoscopic sinus dissection courses, an approved scientific research thesis, and live clinical OSCE and oral viva voce assessments. This independent 100-question multiple-choice practice bank is strictly an educational resource designed to support preparation for the theoretical written components (Primary and Final Section 1); it is not an OSCE or surgical skills simulation.