All Practice Exams

100+ Free PSI TCQR Stage 3 Practice Questions

Prepare for the PSI Third Country Qualification Recognition (TCQR) Stage 3 Examination exam with instant access — no signup required.

✓ No registration✓ No credit card✓ No hidden fees✓ Start practicing immediately
100+ Questions
100% Free

Loading practice questions...

Sample PSI TCQR Stage 3 Practice Questions

Try these sample questions to test your PSI TCQR Stage 3 exam readiness. Each question includes a detailed explanation. Start the interactive quiz above for the full 100+ question experience with AI tutoring.

1A child weighing 15 kg is prescribed amoxicillin oral suspension at a dose of 40 mg/kg/day in three divided doses. The available suspension is 250 mg/5 mL. What volume should be given for each individual dose?
A.4 mL
B.2 mL
C.6 mL
D.8 mL
Explanation: Total daily dose = 40 mg/kg x 15 kg = 600 mg/day. Divided into three doses = 200 mg per dose. At 250 mg/5 mL the concentration is 50 mg/mL, so 200 mg / 50 mg/mL = 4 mL per dose. This is pharmaceutical-calculation practice for MCQ Part A.
2A patient requires a heparin infusion at 1,000 units/hour. The infusion bag contains 25,000 units of heparin in 500 mL of sodium chloride 0.9%. At what rate in mL/hour should the infusion pump be set?
A.10 mL/hour
B.20 mL/hour
C.25 mL/hour
D.50 mL/hour
Explanation: The concentration is 25,000 units / 500 mL = 50 units/mL. To deliver 1,000 units/hour, divide 1,000 by 50 = 20 mL/hour. This is pharmaceutical-calculation practice for MCQ Part A.
3How many grams of sodium chloride are required to prepare 250 mL of a 0.9% w/v sodium chloride solution?
A.0.9 g
B.9 g
C.2.25 g
D.22.5 g
Explanation: A 0.9% w/v solution contains 0.9 g per 100 mL. For 250 mL: 0.9 g x (250/100) = 2.25 g. Understanding the w/v percentage convention (grams per 100 mL) is fundamental to dispensing calculations.
4A 1 in 5,000 solution of potassium permanganate is requested. How many milligrams of potassium permanganate are contained in 200 mL of this solution?
A.4 mg
B.100 mg
C.400 mg
D.40 mg
Explanation: A 1 in 5,000 ratio strength means 1 g in 5,000 mL, i.e. 0.2 mg/mL. For 200 mL: 0.2 mg/mL x 200 mL = 40 mg. Ratio strength expressions are a standard calculation type in pharmacy practice.
5A patient is to receive paracetamol 15 mg/kg every 6 hours and weighs 70 kg. What is the maximum number of milligrams the patient should receive in a 24-hour period from this regimen, and does it stay within the standard 4 g daily limit?
A.4,200 mg, exceeds limit
B.3,150 mg, within limit
C.4,200 mg, within limit
D.6,300 mg, exceeds limit
Explanation: Single dose = 15 mg/kg x 70 kg = 1,050 mg. Every 6 hours means 4 doses in 24 hours: 1,050 x 4 = 4,200 mg, which exceeds the standard maximum of 4 g (4,000 mg) per 24 hours. The pharmacist should flag this and consider capping individual doses at 1 g.
6An adult is prescribed gentamicin 5 mg/kg once daily and weighs 64 kg. The injection is available as 80 mg in 2 mL. What volume should be drawn up for one dose?
A.6 mL
B.8 mL
C.10 mL
D.16 mL
Explanation: Dose = 5 mg/kg x 64 kg = 320 mg. The concentration is 80 mg / 2 mL = 40 mg/mL, so 320 mg / 40 mg/mL = 8 mL. Accurate volume calculation from injection strengths is critical for safe parenteral dosing.
7A prescription requires 30 g of a 2% w/w hydrocortisone ointment, but only 1% and 5% hydrocortisone ointments are available. Using the alligation method, in what ratio (1% : 5%) should they be mixed?
A.1 : 3
B.1 : 1
C.3 : 1
D.2 : 3
Explanation: Using alligation: the 1% differs from the target by |5 - 2| = 3 parts, and the 5% differs by |1 - 2| = 1 part. So mix 3 parts of 1% with 1 part of 5% (3:1). This yields the 2% target strength. Alligation is a recognised technique for adjusting concentrations.
8A patient on warfarin needs an INR-adjusted weekly dose of 35 mg. Tablets available are 1 mg, 3 mg and 5 mg. Which once-daily regimen most simply delivers exactly 35 mg per week using the fewest tablet strengths?
A.3 mg daily plus alternate 1 mg
B.5 mg on five days and 2.5 mg on the other two
C.1 mg daily
D.5 mg daily
Explanation: 5 mg daily x 7 days = 35 mg per week exactly, using a single tablet strength. Warfarin is dosed to a weekly total guided by INR, and simplifying the regimen reduces dosing errors and improves adherence.
9A morphine sulfate oral solution is 10 mg/5 mL. A palliative patient is prescribed 15 mg four times daily. How many millilitres are required to supply a 7-day course?
A.210 mL
B.150 mL
C.300 mL
D.420 mL
Explanation: Each dose of 15 mg = 7.5 mL (since 10 mg = 5 mL). Four doses/day = 30 mL/day. Over 7 days = 210 mL. Quantity calculations for controlled drugs must be exact, as the total supplied must match the prescription.
10A solution contains 5% w/v glucose. How many calories (approximately) are provided by 1 litre, given that glucose provides about 4 kcal per gram?
A.50 kcal
B.200 kcal
C.100 kcal
D.400 kcal
Explanation: 5% w/v glucose = 5 g per 100 mL = 50 g per litre. At 4 kcal/g, 50 g x 4 = 200 kcal per litre. Converting between percentage strength, mass and energy content is relevant to parenteral nutrition calculations.

About the PSI TCQR Stage 3 Exam

The PSI TCQR Stage 3 examination may be required after the holistic assessment for pharmacists whose qualifications were obtained outside the EU/EEA. RCSI delivers it in Dublin on behalf of PSI. Part 1 is an MCQ with independently passed calculations and applied-practice parts; Part 2 is an OSCE using structured, practice-based scenarios. PSI provides the detailed syllabus and supporting materials to eligible candidates.

Assessment

Two independent components: a Multiple-Choice Questionnaire (MCQ) with Part A (calculations) and Part B (applied practice), and an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). Applicants sit one or both depending on their holistic assessment.

Time Limit

Not publicly specified; both components are delivered in person in Dublin by RCSI over scheduled exam days.

Passing Score

Each component must be passed independently with no compensation scoring between MCQ and OSCE; PSI does not publish a numeric pass mark.

Exam Fee

MCQ only EUR 2,250; OSCE only EUR 2,750; both MCQ and OSCE EUR 3,000 (fees published by PSI in May 2026; payment is arranged once an exam place is offered). (Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland (PSI))

PSI TCQR Stage 3 Exam Content Outline

Not published

Pharmaceutical Calculations (MCQ Part A)

Weight-based dosing, percentage and ratio strengths, dilutions, infusion and syringe-driver rates, reconstitution and unit conversions; passed as a standalone MCQ part.

Not published

Applied Pharmacy Practice (MCQ Part B)

Applied pharmacy practice is assessed in MCQ Part B and must be passed independently. The detailed syllabus is supplied to eligible candidates rather than published as a weighted public blueprint.

Not published

Clinical Therapeutics and Patient Care (OSCE-aligned)

Applied therapeutic decision-making, emergency management, patient safety, pharmacovigilance, public health and communication per the PSI Core Competency Framework.

How to Pass the PSI TCQR Stage 3 Exam

What You Need to Know

  • Passing score: Each component must be passed independently with no compensation scoring between MCQ and OSCE; PSI does not publish a numeric pass mark.
  • Assessment: Two independent components: a Multiple-Choice Questionnaire (MCQ) with Part A (calculations) and Part B (applied practice), and an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). Applicants sit one or both depending on their holistic assessment.
  • Time limit: Not publicly specified; both components are delivered in person in Dublin by RCSI over scheduled exam days.
  • Exam fee: MCQ only EUR 2,250; OSCE only EUR 2,750; both MCQ and OSCE EUR 3,000 (fees published by PSI in May 2026; payment is arranged once an exam place is offered).

Keys to Passing

  • Work through all 100 available questions
  • Review every answer and explanation
  • Track weak areas and revisit them
  • Use our AI tutor for tough concepts

PSI TCQR Stage 3 Study Tips from Top Performers

1Master pharmaceutical calculations to a high accuracy: Part A of the MCQ is passed independently, so practise weight-based dosing, ratio/percentage strengths, infusion rates, reconstitution displacement and opioid conversions until they are automatic.
2Ground your law and ethics revision in Irish sources: study the Pharmacy Act 2007, the Medicinal Products (Prescription and Control of Supply) Regulations 2003 (as amended), controlled drug schedules, emergency supply rules and the PSI Code of Conduct rather than your home country's rules.
3Prepare for the OSCE by rehearsing structured patient consultations and counselling out loud (inhaler technique, anticoagulation, high-risk medicines), mapping each to the PSI Core Competency Framework domains.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has to sit the PSI TCQR Stage 3 examination?

Pharmacists who qualified in a non-EU/EEA country (including the UK and Northern Ireland since 1 January 2021) and who are directed to Path B after the PSI holistic assessment must sit the equivalence examination as Stage 3 of the Third Country Qualification Recognition (TCQR) process.

What is the structure of the exam and who runs it?

The exam is delivered in person in Dublin by the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) on behalf of the PSI. It has two independent components: an MCQ (Part A calculations, Part B applied pharmacy practice) and an OSCE. Applicants may be required to sit one or both, with no compensation scoring between components.

How much does the PSI TCQR Stage 3 examination cost in 2026?

The PSI fees published in May 2026 are EUR 2,250 for the MCQ component only, EUR 2,750 for the OSCE component only, and EUR 3,000 for both components. Payment is arranged once an exam place has been confirmed, and the place is not secured until payment is received.

What does the syllabus cover?

PSI publicly states that the examination is aligned to its Core Competency Framework and assesses pharmaceutical knowledge and calculations, applied clinical and practice-based skills, patient safety and medicines optimisation, and professional judgement and communication. The detailed syllabus and supporting materials are provided to eligible candidates in advance, so no public percentage weighting should be inferred.